Confessions logo

The Sweet Friend!

The subtle sourness is super attractive, and sweetness multi-folds.

By Govardhan PinniPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
1
The Sweet Friend!
Photo by Senjuti Kundu on Unsplash

It was 2007 summer, as far as I recall and I came across magnifying glass. I remember crying for it and getting one. It was when I saw in a cartoon show and also in a story book, to find it intriguing to have one. Initially it was really tough to have to use it properly and under parental supervision but you know, the devil inside doesn’t stop, right?! Pardon, the child inside.

I took an old container like a bowl, gathered the dried fallen leaves, and got to work under the pear tree where the slight breeze seemed to be flirting now that I recall. Never realized I could actually light them all with the magnifying glass. Intense concentration and holding magnifying glass with one hand and the hand with the other, in the afternoon sun. 5 minutes passed and I could see a dark spot on the dry leaf and a faint smoke. Continued and after 2 minutes, there was fire. I felt elated until the flames rose up and there was heat. Mom came, and yelled for using it and burning leaves. But after 10 minutes, she did explain how dried leaves can be used for organic manure and certainly the usage of the glass. Well! Not sure what I understood back then, but I know I did get an important lesson when I recall now.

Traffic Signals are very interesting to me! Ringing a HOW?! Read through -

It’s been years since I last regretted something. In the latter part of February 2021, I was going to meet a friend. On the way, I had to stop right at the zebra-crossing as the traffic light turned red. The timer had 45 seconds until the next green. Around 30 seconds left, an old man started crossing the street right when the vehicles from the opposite side had green. Yes, the old man is at fault for ignorance of traffic lights, and that part aside, there was a traffic police right at the signal controlling and common people, hurling abuses, honking and trying to pass from right next to him. I stood there contemplating should I run towards, put my bike across the road and allow him to pass or help him cross the road or do I just leave while he struggles crossing. In lieu of all these thoughts, I just rode away. And yeah, been a little close to a month, probably, the thoughts sprang over 100 times about what and why I acted that way. All it required was a step to take forward, help the old man cross and be on your way. I realized sometimes, thoughts and hesitation rule over rationality, and this is something that consciously reminded me to keep over-thinking in check.

The past 10 days were quite interesting and there was a mind-boggling incident last week. I was returning home after having French Fries at McDonalds (yes, specifics). On my way back, I had to stop as the traffic signal turned red. There were a couple of footpath dwellers and people asking for alms. A girl held a car glass-shield cleaning-liquid and started cleaning the glass pane abruptly of a new Mahindra — XUV300. After cleaning, she asked him for money. This gentleman, then, gave her a bottle of sanitizer and explained to her the necessity to keep her own self hygiene. Apparently, few signal timers are 180 seconds long for this to be possible. Just a few traffic things in “Incredible India”.

You could see 3 incidents when read stand-alone but a common thing pricking me in all was enthusiasm in 3 different ways and well, that’s what I could relate in all with. The context with your view altogether changes when seen differently.

The intriguness of the child was moulded into a better way than being scrapped out in first incident.

The second incident played a role of reminder to keep my eyes open around me. Observational analogies are the best when observed directly.

This has just brought in a whole new presence of mind. Witty? Yes. Exploited? No. Tells me to hold the courage to think rather than falling prey to herd mentality.

They altogether have piqued my enthusiasm, perhaps a lot more!

A pizza is generally round, but when a slice is taken out, it’s completely distorted and when one slice is seen, it has a shape again.

For those who can relate with capital markets, there are multiple timeframes on technicals where a small time frame can give a bearish signal while a longer time frame can give you an immense investment opportunity and vice-versa.

For a professional athlete, one from outside the game can give 100 suggestions, but the player knows the criticality and how a particular instance is to be dealt with.

Of course, unless you hold a magic lamp, I don’t see an immediate picture of what you see. It is what it is and it will be, and depends on how you see it.

You must’ve come across a phrase, “eyes of the beholder”. That remains true to the core. Every second or minute of your life isn’t about achieving recognition and making it happening, but every observation also makes it interesting. One could learn and recollect from it, or just see it as a passing breeze.

“Little drops of water make a mighty ocean”, I came across this in a Social Studies lesson from school. Back then, it was about rain and water bodies and now what a detour to the very phrase.

“Every small incident collectively gives you a picture and only after a few pieces put together, you get a faint sense of it and what it “could” turn out to be”. Apply this very phrase in your daily life, maybe on pilot mode?! (:

PS: “Saiiii! Em chesthunavu, cheppana muttadhu ani, came a stern voice from behind!” means, (“Saiiii! What are you doing, haven’t I told you not to touch that?, came a stern voice from behind!”)

Humanity
1

About the Creator

Govardhan Pinni

I write on Creativity, Finance, Life and General, and narrate them in observational scenarios!

I go by "govipinni" on Social Media!

Gigs: [email protected] | Newsletter: [email protected] | Presence: linktr.ee/govardhanpinni

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.