Confessions logo

I kind of like the new me.

Dressing "Normal" to see his reaction

By KodahPublished 11 days ago 3 min read
15
Pinterest

I walk into the CD store.

"Hey, can I help you today?"

"Roman! It's me! Kodah!"

"Huh...Kodah??"

"You know, I really thought about what we discussed the other day. And you're right, who cares what people think about me."

He mumbles. "Yeah well, not me."

I raise my eyebrow. "I'm tired of people judging me for how I look. I mean hey, I'm not wearing black today. I'm wearing colours, which usually scare me. Black always felt so comforting."

He shrugs.

"Look I'm not wearing black shoes! My old look was attracting all the low lives, hopefully, now I'll find a decent guy."

"But, once you get him... you'll go back to the old look, right?"

"Hmm, I don't know! You got me thinking that I have been hiding behind all these clothes and makeup. I mean... I kind of like the new me!"

He glares at me as if I'm not recognizable.

"Full face of makeup, corsets, tight clothes, being in control of what I want to wear, I kind of like the new me."

"Hey, listen. I didn't make you feel this way, right?" - Roman looks up at me.

I pause for a second to think. "Hmm. You didn't make me feel this way, you made me this way."

"What is that supposed to mean?"

"Well, I probably wouldn't have done this without you. I guess the wrong type of people introduce themselves into your life for a deeper purpose."- I turn around to look at the CDS.

"Ooo, I've been looking for this CD!"- I sprint to grab a CD I didn't know and put it on the counter.

Roman does another glare. "Since when did you start listening to country music?"

"Like I said. I kind of like the new me. New me, means new music taste!"

"But you don't love...the new you?"- Roman scans my CD.

"I mean, the intent of a new me was very abrupt. I didn't know someone I loved for so long felt this way about me."

Roman sighs. "I'm sorry, Kodah. I'm so sorry."

I too let out a sigh. "It's fine, I guess you didn't know how to be with a real girl anyway. Bye, Roman!" - I take my CD and leave a $50 note on the bench.

"You'll probably want to keep the change!"- I turn my back and leave the store."

I sigh. I felt rude, of course. But I wanted him to know how much he really affected me, in such a way I changed my appearance to only feel accepted in my next relationship.

I walk into a nearby alleyway; I throw the CD I paid for at the wall. Smashing it with my foot over and over again. Until every piece was disintegrated.

"STUPID CD!" STUPID MEN-"

"Are you alright?"- A voice cuts me off from behind me.

I turned around and looked at the tall figure who stood poised in front of me. I fix my hair in front of him on purpose. "Yeah, just a little, upset."

"Don't be upset, beautiful."

Beautiful?"

Am I falling for the same trap...

Or does this man care enough about me that he approached me, despite my unpredictable behavior in a random alleyway...

The real question is though,

Will he like the new me, like how I don't like it~

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Thank you so much for reading!! :D <3

Stream of ConsciousnessDatingBad habits
15

About the Creator

Kodah

- Storyteller, Love/Romance, Poetry, Dark, Mental health, Psychological, Surreal, Nature, Mythical

~𝓢𝓽𝓸𝓻𝓲𝓮𝓼 𝓬𝓪𝓷 𝓫𝓮 𝓪 𝓵𝓲𝓽𝓽𝓵𝓮 𝓭𝓮𝓮𝓹~

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (10)

Sign in to comment
  • TheSpinstress4 days ago

    Eek, this guy in the alley sounds a bit of a creep! Approaching a distressed girl in an alleyway to call her 'beautiful' before even finding out what's wrong...hope it all turns out OK!

  • Hannah Moore7 days ago

    No one "cares about you enough" on first sight!

  • Carrie 10 days ago

    Interesting story Kodah. I’m sorry you felt this way 😢

  • Caroline Craven10 days ago

    Only change for you Kodah. You’re a great person and if people don’t like you for who you are, then that’s on them. This was a great piece of work.

  • Kageno Hoshino10 days ago

    This is sad :(

  • Lunaverse11 days ago

    This was actually sad to me 😢 I’m so sorry Kodah. Love your story! ❤️

  • Novel Allen11 days ago

    Not so sure about meeting a man in an alley. Go enjoy the new you or accept whichever you you really are comfortable with. Accept you, the right him will appear. Poem is deep and well done.

  • Mariann Carroll11 days ago

    Ohhh, is this story going to turn into a date story???? Cannot wait

  • If you feel comfortable wearing black or doing whatever else that you like doing, don't ever change for anyone. Never change who you are for others. It's your happiness that matters the most. If people don't like you the way you are, it's their loss. Only change if you want to. Sending you lots of love and hugs ❤️

  • D. J. Reddall11 days ago

    There is always a dialectical relationship between the transformation of the self and the transformation of the world. The newfound fondness for country music (short lived as it was) was a nice touch!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.