Confessions logo

The Gym

Nothing like a good workout...

By IntrovertedExrovertPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
The Gym
Photo by Vidar Nordli-Mathisen on Unsplash

Left.

Left.

Left.

“Ugh”. I feel like all of these dating apps are the same. I’m seeing all the same people writing the same things in all of their profiles. I mean I do the same but, that’s beside the point. I think I’ve tried at least ten so far. I shouldn’t be surprised this is a dud, yet I am. This is what I get for reading so many romance novels as a child.

I toss my phone on the bed and continue getting dressed. I know a good workout is all I need right now. After I put on my shoes, I grab my phone and gym bag to head out the door. I’m so in my feelings, of course I’m listening to sappy, love songs. I put on my workout playlist and I’m pumped! As I listen to ‘Lemon Pepper Freestyle’ by Drake I’m pushing those sad feelings aside. As much as I need to, I despise working out at this time. It’s always crowded and I can never get on the equipment that I need. Once I step through the door, I’m amazed by how many people are actually working out today. Looking out at the parking lot you would think it was 5x more than what I was seeing. I put my headphones on and toss my bag into the locker. I start my usual warm ups before getting into my workout. I figure I’ll put in an hour, that should be good. I head over to the ab machine before I finish my workout and I’m cut off by this guy. He looks at me and starts talking but, I can’t hear. I remove my headphones.

“I’m sorry, were you about to use this?” He repeats.

“No, it’s okay, I can wait.” I respond.

“Okay, cool.” He starts adjusting the seat and I turn to walk away.

I’m already thinking what a jerk move that was before I feel a hand on my arm. It’s him again.

“I was just joking. I’m sorry” he says.

“It’s okay”, I respond half-way believing this.

“No, it’s not. That was dumb of me. Can I make it up to you?”

Now, I’m really looking at him and my goodness if he isn’t gorgeous. He’s about 6’0’, muscular build but, not the showy kind of muscular. His caramel complexion is almost near perfect except the small scar on his left cheek. That just makes him more human to me. I’m looking at his lips now and can’t resist the thought of how much I want to kiss them. Then, I realize he’s waiting for me to answer.

“Sorry, I zoned a bit.” He licks his lips. I don’t think that’s sweat I’m feeling right now..

“I figured” he chuckles. “We can have dinner if you’re up for it, tonight?”

I pretend I’m thinking about it.

“Yeah, that should work.” I respond. We exchange numbers.

His name is Alex. Maybe I should’ve scheduled for another night because I can’t seem to think straight. I get on the ab machine and with the new energy I got, I’m able to do more reps than I’ve ever done before!

Alex was texting me and we agree that 7pm would be the best time. Part of me just wants to get it over with because I couldn’t think someone would actually want to go out with me. The other part was way too excited in more ways than one! I get home and hop in the shower. I start to daydream before I realize I don’t know what I’m going to wear. After what seems like forever, I decide on a black dress with flat strappy sandals. I don’t want to seem desperate.

We decide to meet at a local restaurant. I had never been there before. As soon as I see him, I’m speechless. Like, how could he be even more beautiful? He walks over and gives me a hug.

“You look amazing.” He says.

“Thank you, not looking too bad yourself.” I reply. He laughs and grabs my hand. I follow and we go through a side door. I’m confused and a bit scared. He tells me he owns the place and has a special dinner set up. We walk through the door and I am floored! The room is nearly as big as my apartment. It’s dimly lit, there were candles everywhere. Some old school R&B jams playing in the background. Talk about setting the mood! In the middle of the room was a beautiful table set for two. He pulls out a chair for me and then hands me a bouquet of roses.

“I hope you like it.” He says.

“Are you kidding me? This is beautiful! You didn’t have to do all of this though” I say.

“I did. I’ve been seeing you around for a while and I didn’t know how to get your attention. Also, I’m sorry again about the ab machine, I saw that as my only chance to ask you out.” He responds.

My heart is going crazy now. Is this real?

“I can’t believe this.” I say.

At that moment, our server brought in wine glasses. He has a cart with some very good wine choices. I tell him I’ll take the Merlot. He pours my glass and Alex has some as well. He tells us our food will be done shortly before disappearing through the door I hadn’t noticed before.

Alex leans over and I meet him halfway. He kisses my cheek

“Believe it.” He says. “I would love to get to know you better, if that’s okay?”

“Absolutely.” I respond.

He kisses me on my cheek.

Then, on my shoulder.

Such soft kisses.

Our lips meet. That is definitely not sweat that I feel now.

As we’re making out, I see this light. Is our food ready?

It keeps growing…

No. No way. It was the sun waking me up.

I slowly sit up in my bed. I had too much wine last night. I can see the empty Merlot bottle on my nightstand. I groan and proceed to get out of bed. As I get near my living room, I see a man asleep on my couch. I’m more than a little freaked. I grab a pan and slowly walk around so I can see him.

Alex?

Wait. Was it all a dream?

Dating
Like

About the Creator

IntrovertedExrovert

Just trying to find the right words.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.