Poets logo

The Proposal

An oldie

By IntrovertedExrovertPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
The Proposal
Photo by Amanda Mocci on Unsplash

Looking in your eyes

I see something there

Not what I thought

But something more rare

The intensity of your gaze

As I stared into your soul

Was enough to give me shivers

Even though I wasn't cold

You started to speak

Yet, I couldn't take my eyes away

Your words were a blur

But I know you asked me to stay

For the night

I agreed, then you asked me

"Wat are you doing for the rest of your life"

"Cuz with you is where I wanna be"

Donell Jones in the background

As I tried to find my words

I gave you an answer

But the words were slurred

Between tears

And racing thoughts

You walked towards me

With a blue Tiffany box

Yes of course!

I said again

You smiled sheepishly

As I thought, I got a good man

To love me through all

Thick and thin

And to be with me

To the very end

You slipped the ring on my finger

As I wiped away tears

Thinking how we'll be together

Even through our golden years

You kissed me repeatedly

As I complained I looked a mess

It didn't matter to you

Cause you didn't love me any less

Blushing uncontrollably

I kissed you deep

So high off adrenaline

I didn't think I could sleep

But somehow you managed

To grab me by the hand

And lead me away

To what seemed like forbidden land

Following you

I had no regrets

By being with you

I was given the best

love poems
Like

About the Creator

IntrovertedExrovert

Just trying to find the right words.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.