Confessions logo

That Year’s Model

A Brief Look at Another...Career?

By Kendall Defoe Published 9 months ago Updated 9 months ago 4 min read
Was I that year's model, Declan?

Leslie Writes…and I listen.

I had better explain and tell you why I am writing this piece (always seem to be explaining myself). In Ms. Writes’ work about a previous career, I made a comment about one of my more embarrassing employment moments and received the following response:

Oh, come on! You can’t drop a

smoke bomb on something like

that! You have to write about it now!

She was right. I did drop a bomb, and I am still moving through the smoke and debris of that moment and finding a way to talk about this…without sounding like the worst egoist.

I was a model.

Almost.

*

Let’s go back to the early 2000s. I was working in Tokyo, Japan, moving from contract to contract as a freelancer who got the chance to see parts of the city and the rest of the country that many of my fellow housemates never saw. And with such an open set of contracts, I took on almost any job that filled in the time. Some of my friends noticed this and were…concerned. In fact, there was so much concern, that I was offered one of the most ridiculous job offers ever.

“Kendall, have you ever thought about modeling?”

I loved the people I met in that house, I really did. That was M., a young woman who stepped away from teaching ESL to do other jobs with other companies, including working for a modeling agency. I saw one of her head shots and was impressed. But what did I think of myself in such a job?

I just laughed…

And to be fair, I had to imagine that this was just an elaborate prank. I had no success in my hometown with dating or being anyone’s example of a stunner, a ladies’ man, or a player (or is that ‘playa’?). It was only in Japan that I noticed a few things that seemed to change my life. First, I lost weight, to the point where one day I was at work, and a colleague noticed that my pants and belt were just hanging off my body (the old suits were for a heavier time). It was not just his comment that stood out. After a trip home to see the family and attend a wedding, everyone commented on this change (it was hard to understand how perceptions shift when staring at old faces). Secondly, I was suddenly dating. It was easy to go out and meet other people. At the bars and pubs that we patronized after work – I rarely walked straight home – I was meeting plenty of people in the same boat who were trying to find themselves overseas. And my dates were not all Japanese. I dated people who could have attended my university or high school. The problem in Japan was knowing when lines were being crossed. I understood why some teachers got into serious hot water with students. I never did, but I did face some temptations that could have ruined my reputation (that is for another article). Housewives and office ladies were often just bored and wanted to talk in class, especially in private lessons where their husbands would be absent and – on rare occasions – their wedding rings went missing. So, there was an interest on both sides…

But modeling?

I kept laughing…until I was given a card and a date to show up at a particular studio.

*

There were three of us, including the woman who was a coordinator for the agency. And I was put into a group with a wrestler (saw the head shot and would have guessed as much from his body language and demeanor) and a very tall, dread-locked gentleman who seemed to have all of the experiences with modeling that I would never have.

And what did we have to do?

Only one thing…

There was a circular platform in the middle of what looked suspiciously like an airplane hangar. We were told that this was to be a photo-shoot for a poster to be used for a jazz festival. I relaxed at that bit of knowledge. I had on a proper suit and tie, and told myself that the two other people there would probably not give that particular musical vibe on film.

Oh, dear.

I was atrocious. They told me to sit on the chair provided on the platform, pick up a guitar and pretend to play and smoke at the same time. Then it was, “Throw your head back!” “Close your eyes and dream!” “Imagine all of the applause around you!” And so on, and so on…

Now, I can play the guitar (the Gretsch electric hollow-body in my hand needed a tuning and I was very tempted to fix this before the cameras came out), and maybe if I had made a real attempt at it, I would have been hired. But the whole pretending to smoke, dream, and letting my thoughts settle on an imaginary audience did not play out that well. So, I let the others come in and try their best.

The dread-locked fellow got the job.

I did see the poster later and I will admit that he did suit the part. Maybe there was some special Zoolanderian skill that I needed to develop. But I never got another chance. The staff told me that I could do this for a living, but when you realize that hanging by the phone waiting for someone to call you to take your picture is not the career for you, you move on.

But I still wonder about what could have been…

Does she...?

*

Thank you for reading!

If you liked this, you can add your Insights, Comment, leave a Heart, Tip, Pledge, or Subscribe. I will appreciate any support you have shown for my work.

You can find more poems, stories, and articles by Kendall Defoe on my Vocal profile. I complain, argue, provoke and create...just like everybody else.

Give it a look...

SecretsWorkplaceHumanityEmbarrassment

About the Creator

Kendall Defoe

Teacher, reader, writer, dreamer... I am a college instructor who cannot stop letting his thoughts end up on the page.

And I did this: Buy Me A Coffee... And I did this:

Blogger

Squawk Back

Quora

Reedsy

Instagram

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

  • Leslie Writes9 months ago

    You’ve had a fascinating life. First, it must be flattering to be offered the chance to model. Ego boost! Then I totally understand why you were like, ‘no thanks!’ It’s such an awkward thing to pose for pictures. You have nothing to be embarrassed about 😎 Thank you for indulging my curiosity, Kendall!

  • You will always be a model teacher.

  • Alex H Mittelman 9 months ago

    I once dated a model! I bought the mannequin online for $40 plus shipping! Put a hat on her and called her Sally! Anyway, great story! Japan sounds awesome! I want to hear more!

  • Scott Christenson9 months ago

    Nice story, good to hear Japan worked out so well for you. Def sounds like there could be a good story with the bored housewives. I had lived in tokyo around the same era, and heard a lot of stories from english teachers, even though not a whole lot happened to me. Except for my own modeling interview. wow, I bombed so badly, your experience sounds like you got a lot farther. My roommate who did modelling and ads (and worked in a 'host bar' for a while too) took me along to his talent agent for a tryout. "Look serious," she said while taking my photo, "Now, look happy". She took more photos. "Why are you making the same face?"

Kendall Defoe Written by Kendall Defoe

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.