Confessions logo

Speed

Another Piece On My Creative Process

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 3 min read
6

Introduction

This is about a lot of things about me that make me too much for most people.

My Faults

I talk too fast, I talk too much, I write too fast and I write and publish too much, so some people ignore everything I do. I understand this, some creators just seem to be always posting something and eventually you think “I’ve had enough”.

I was thinking of writing this as a poem, but it really needs to be a stream of thought and ideas. The thing is I have confidence that what I produce is worthy and worth reading.

I know I can produce ten works and people will only read one because it will interest them, and that is fine by me. I write so much that people cannot keep up and a lot of my output will not interest them. I am the same with other people, although I am surprised that some people see to catch every one of my creations and I thoroughly appreciate that.

This is my third story today and sometimes I do wonder if quantity is winning out over quality. Having said that when I produce poetry it is usually in a strict format rather than freeform so can take a relatively long time for what people see as few words, but exercises in limiting our options by defining a writing format do help to discipline yourself when you begin to weave your stories

My Features

I seem to be able to write about anything at any given time. I am usually fairly laconic so often my stories are quite short but this is my 901st Vocal story. 330 of my stories are poems so that is at least 33,000 words of poetry and 350,000 words of prose that I have sitting on Vocal and backed up on Google Docs.

This is about me but today I have written a fiction story and another about different aspects of myself. People are interested in me but I do understand that some will find me boring or don’t take to me, that is life. If I were in the “Lion King” lots of people would see me as Scar but a lot would also see me as Mufasa (hope that is ok with people, someone once said to me that self-praise is no recommendation).

Through what I have done here I have learned self-publishing and written a guide to it. A lot of my work is about giving practical guidance to creators and writers and I love the appreciation I get for these pieces.

I can’t really make anyone create more quickly, but I would say look to find inspiration in everything around you, it might be people, loved ones, yourself, friends, pets, places, events and music and more. Read lots as well and watch TV and film, you may see things that give you ideas.

My recent story “Time” was initially inspired by the “Trinity” scenario in Clive Barker’s “Great and Secret Show” but then, as Tolkien said, “The tale grew in the telling” becoming at least one person’s favourite story of mine.

Concluding Speed

This piece has resulted in me writing over two thousand words today. A lot of those will be read by a lot of people and I know some won't be read. But that is the very nature of writing. You get to say what you want, and you hope that others will listen to you.

They don't have to agree with you, and it is good if they point out spelling and grammatical mistakes and logical flaws, but there is nothing like someone saying “That’s Brilliant”, it's like getting a hug and a kiss from them.

Bad habitsFriendshipHumanity
6

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudey

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Celia

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Babs Iversonabout a year ago

    Brilliant!!! Hugs & Hearts!!!

  • JBazabout a year ago

    I will try to commit to reading at least one of your stories per day. Whew , you tire me out just thinking about how much you write.

  • Atomic Historianabout a year ago

    This great Mike! I read as much as I can

  • It certainly does overwhelm me when you post too many in a short period of time but that doesn't stop me from reading your work. They're all very brilliant!

  • Gina C.about a year ago

    I love and admire that you are able to write so much!! I wish I had as many ideas. I love your thoughts about finding inspiration. You’ve definitely inspired ME :)

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.