Confessions logo

Some Prompts Are So Difficult.

This one took me a good two weeks and I couldn’t finish it. How about you?

By Denise E LindquistPublished about a year ago 4 min read
2
Some Prompts Are So Difficult.
Photo by Sigmund on Unsplash

First, I wish to say that this prompt was horrendous for me to complete. Taking me days, well maybe a week or more! And I could not finish it! And worse yet, I can’t remember where the prompt comes from! So, I will publish it on my own. And just not worry about it.

All About Me — And Who Knows Me Better Than Me!

№ 1 Experiential or Theoretical

Experiential is my favorite method of therapy. I love to play and watch therapy games and psychodrama. I love to create art to just see what happens, rather than paint by number, and knowing what it will look like before it is done. I am not impressed with Freud, but I admire Virginia Satir and her theory.

№ 2 Logical or Empathetic

Empathetic is my preference. Although I can count on logical thought when it is important to have research back up my empathetic reasoning. Wow, did I just say that? Does that make sense to the smart people on here?

№ 3 Reasonable or Compassionate

I am thinking that I am probably more reasonable than compassionate after spending 44 years of work on my codependency. I would say that I am still very compassionate with people I work with as I can have compassion for their circumstances and not have to try to fix them.

My reasonable know it is an addiction/mental health issue rather than the real person. Sometimes it is like that saying, “You can’t fool a bullshitter. Or Tell someone else that story as I have been there and know better.” My compassion finds a softer way to say that.

№ 4 Practical or Conceptual

I think I am way more practical than conceptual. I will use the culture wherever I can and I see cultural teachings as more practical.

№ 5 Systematic or Spontaneous

I can always be much more spontaneous than systematic. The system says, to do your case notes before anything else. I say, first I have to do this and then I want to do this and I will get to them. And finally, I sit down to do my case notes! Then I say, well, I didn’t wait until tomorrow! What brings me back is the system saying, “If it isn’t documented it didn’t happen!”

№ 6 Realistic or Imaginative

I have been both realistic and imaginative. I can write non-fiction based on my life and other things that happen. Realistic. Fiction on the other hand is difficult for me. I think I had a good imagination as a child, and I try to get that back when writing fiction. Sometimes I have to build a fiction story based on some goings-on in my world.

№ 7 Original or Traditional

I do not have much for original thought, but I understand traditional and understand a lot about being traditional in the culture.

№ 8 Tough or Tender

I can be both tough and tender. Probably I behave more tenderly and get tough only when it feels necessary.

I try to appear tough, but those who know me will see right through that as a woman I supervised said to me, “It is better to ask for forgiveness rather than asking for permission!” Then she grimaced and said, “I shouldn’t have told you that, as my boss, but I know you are a softy and will forgive me!”

№ 9 Adapt or Prepare

Prepare first and then be adaptable to fit the audience.

№ 10 Expressive or Reserved

Expressive although I have been called shy, I have never been shy. It is more reserved. In my culture, we learn to watch and listen before we start to talk. Within the family, there is no one reserved.

№ 11 Tactful or Candid

I try to be Tactful, however, I tend to be too candid sometimes.

№ 12 Literal or Figurative

I prefer to be Figurative, draw a picture, soften the edges, then be literal.

№ 13 Facts or Dreams

Live the Dreams of happily ever after, rather than face the fact that it won’t always be that way!

№ 14 Questioning or Accommodating

I try being Accommodating but also question me or them.

№ 15 Organized or Messy

My husband calls them piles. I know where most things are. What pile I mean. Doesn’t that just mean that I don’t have enough storage space? Doesn’t it mean, he puts my mail in the living room when I open it on the table by the kitchen? Is the messiness his fault? He says he is organized. I suppose he is but not about my stuff.

№ 16 Thinking or Feeling

More often I allow feelings to override my thinking. Although I will admit that I think too much!

№ 17 Judging or Perceiving

I was quite judgmental as a younger person. Not so much anymore. My problem with these is I think they are supposed to be the opposite when they aren’t. My perception is stronger now. (Note how I just figured out that the two words are not exactly opposites now that I am at the end of the list.)

№ 18 Critical or Accepting

I don’t think I am the least bit critical but come on now. I am human. I am however very accepting.

№ 19 Initiating or Receiving

I prefer giving to receiving. I host a Poem a Day in February and have contests to give gifts. And I love giving, much more than receiving. Now doesn’t initiating mean starting something? Yes, I tend to follow, not lead, although I can lead when that is the position, I am in.

№ 20 Gregarious or Intimate

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Published first in Medium

Secrets
2

About the Creator

Denise E Lindquist

I am married with 7 children, 27 grands, and 12 great-grandchildren. I am a culture consultant part-time. I write A Poem a Day in February for 8 years now. I wrote 4 - 50,000 word stories in NaNoWriMo. I write on Vocal/Medium weekly.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Gigi Gibsonabout a year ago

    Hearted and subscribed ♥️

  • Gigi Gibsonabout a year ago

    Denise… I enjoyed every word of your story! You left me wanting more at the end… are you gregarious or intimate?

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.