Confessions logo

Taxes Are Not Fun To Do

And they are not fun to have others do for you!

By Denise E LindquistPublished about a year ago 3 min read
2
Taxes Are Not Fun To Do
Photo by Kelly Sikkema on Unsplash

The hubby and I went to see our tax people. We are eligible for yearly tax prep through the AARP foundation tax-aide professionals. Each year we make an appointment, gather our paperwork and go in on the date we signed up for.

The routine is pretty much the same. I check my mail and give the tax papers to hubby. He is better organized he says. I say, are you sure we got everything? It seems early this year. He says, "Did you get everything done that you were going to do?"

I assure him that I finished the first thing this morning. About an hour before it was time to go out the door.

We are shuttled off to a room to complete paperwork when we arrive. Hubby starts complaining as soon as we start the questions and doesn't stop until we move into the next room. He is saying what crazy person put all this paperwork together.

Then it sounded something like, someone should put him out of his misery!

Great, and it doesn't really get any better! The intake person has to take a phone call as his mother is in the hospital. So, of course, hubby says that the tax man doesn't know what he is doing. He didn't ask enough questions to get us the best deal he could says hubby.

And then, we had both forgotten about the one form the state sent, that had to be a mistake but we didn't call about it. Big mistake. Tax man then said, that since he saw it, then it can't disappear. Even if it is wrong, a form will have to go in with the return or they won't be able to do the return.

Hubby is now flipping out. Then there is a question about who will be writing a check if it gets to the point of needing to pay in. Hubby said to me, "You will be." I agreed, although he always pays something toward the tax bill. So I thought the complaining would stop.

Wrong, he continued to complain, swear and look miserable!

When we went to leave, he said that he was so upset that we were going straight home. Okay. On the way home, I make two phone calls, one to the tribe that didn't send a 1099. I got the message that it was put in the mail today!

The next call went to the state. On the voicemail, it confirmed that indeed mistakes were made and that the correct amounts were going out on February 8 and 9, 2023. I left a message for a callback.

The next morning I did receive a call back from the state. The amount on the form was almost $46,000. and the correct amount was $1,000. Hubby was excited when I told him.

The tribe got another call as I haven't heard from them yet. I left a message.

Taxes cause my hubby stress every year. He would rather I not work, or if I do that taxes are taken out or that I receive cash. Not likely as a retired consultant, who works part-time.

I believe I will continue to work part-time until I can no longer work. I really should be paying in quarterly, but haven't started that and I have been retired and working now for several years. I haven't told hubby this.

I will put hubby in my prayers and ask that he not have a heart attack or stroke during tax season. I thought it may be better to do taxes earlier this year. It doesn't seem to be working that way.

A couple of friends have suggested doing them myself. Bad, bad idea! I can not even imagine the stress caused in doing that. He wants to blame AARP, as they changed the way they do taxes since covid! Damn covid! Oops!

I am going to let him blame AARP!

SecretsEmbarrassmentBad habits
2

About the Creator

Denise E Lindquist

I am married with 7 children, 27 grands, and 12 great-grandchildren. I am a culture consultant part-time. I write A Poem a Day in February for 8 years now. I wrote 4 - 50,000 word stories in NaNoWriMo. I write on Vocal/Medium weekly.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.