Confessions logo

Scars

An Untold Story

By Emily EdwardsPublished 12 months ago 4 min read
Like
Scars
Photo by Luis Villasmil on Unsplash

Scars

In my whole life i have been rather fortunate. I havent had any horrible scaring on my skin. I mean I do have one scar. But since I tend to heal quickly, it’s the only one that I have. I know the type that once you get it, you know why and how. For me it’s hidden 90% of the time and I don’t think it’ll ever go away.

I can’t say anything about bones. I have broken several toes including one while riding my bike around town, thank goodness that is the only one that I have broken, this car I’m gonna be talking about those different is kind of a hard thing to talk about when it’s hidden so often and what you wouldn’t think so do you think it would be like a really cool little thing to talk about. But it’s very interesting will just say.

It’s just something I was born with. When I was born, I had dislocated hips. One was by my lung in the other by my ribs. so the doctors had to put me in a cast for the first two years of my life, so that way my hips could grow to be somewhat normal. My dad often told me his favorite thing to do at that time was to grab the bar between the legs and do some weightlifting. He claims all the time did he did this I was laughing and giggling with glee. Which I’m not entirely sure that is truthful, but that’s a story for another day.

Honestly it’s embarrassing. Simply because it is so noticeable when I wear shorts or swimsuit trunks. trust me there are a lot of times I would love to tell a wonderful epic about it. About how I got stabbed in the hip and I barely got away with it and survived a Traumatic fight to the death of the other guy or something. Unfortunately that did not happen.

But don’t think that there have been times that I wish that happened but it really is such an anticlimactic story of course it may be because I’ve told it so many times that I think it’s anticlimactic. The good thing is is it gives me plenty of opportunities for awesome lines or jokes. Enough to either make people laugh or smile at least an intense to help me learn humility as well as let my limitations are due to it.

Because even though I am 35 my whole life I’ve always needed help getting up sometimes or even walking. Unlike everybody else they can easily get on a bike. It takes a while for me. It helps some people around me do small acts of kindness for me although it is hard for me to ask since I don’t like being helpless. Seriously it makes my day when I am able to help with the little things.

Not that it makes me in capable of living independent of others, but it does affect my balance badly that I can hardly move or I can hardly speak sometimes because it is very emotional for me. I will say one good thing about it. It makes for a great conversation starters and helps me make friends whenever I swim or wear short shorts. The only bad thing is that it tends to screw with my balance, and walking as well as being seen as an excuse. Although yes, I walk mostly straight.

It doesn’t always mean a good thing. I usually have to be hyper focused to walk a perfect line or even remotely straight because if I don’t, my hips tend to tilt either towards the left, or the right, never in a straight line, as in like a gravity test of a tilt, I can’t begin to count how many times throughout my life I’ve fallen on the ground for no other reason then my hips pigeon me around like a ragdoll yet another reason I often say I am accident prone.

Also, I go through shoes like nobody’s business like I wear out both soles of my shoes mainly the inner part but it’s understandable due to the fact that it affects me walking so much. it also makes it for a very highly expensive habit. If there’s one thing I have learned about it is that like it says never be ashamed of a scar. It just means you were stronger than whatever tried to hurt you however, how powerful that is it isn’t something to be ashamed of or scared of.

seriously the world will be different if you learn to embrace whatever the scar is hiding or revealing mentally or emotionally it is hard to learn how to deal with that on a daily basis. But hey I have 35 years of practice under my belt. The main reason I am talking about it. is because of what Moana‘s grandma said in Moana. Which is by the way my favorite movie one of them at least. She said, and I quote sometimes the world seems against you, the journey may leave a scar. But scars can heal and reveal, just where you are.

And along those lines it has helped keep me humble. Although some things are difficult for me, even seemingly easy things. You would probably be surprised just how much balance plays apart in daily life. I have been told my whole life that i am lazy. Sadly, no matter how many times i have explained. Its automatically labeled as an excuse. which i kinda agree, to a point that is.

HumanityEmbarrassment
Like

About the Creator

Emily Edwards

Hello, I’m Emily. My psuedo name is Malina Dixon and I’m the creative mind behind Write Sparky.

I’ve always been passionate about writing, My whole life has centered it in some form or another.

Thanks for any and all comments.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.