Confessions logo

Farming

A way to a simpler way of life

By Emily EdwardsPublished 12 months ago 4 min read
Like

Farms, a simple way of life

another thing I have learned about farms is that there is quite a variety and most are small. All of them have something in common. Among other things, is the amount of things that are traded for versus bought. If I didn't know any better I would say it is the workings of a moneyless society. And for the most part, it is.

I can't begin to tell you how many times I witnessed people barter for mini horses, ponies, saddles, and even horse feed for free so to speak. what I mean is that no money exchanged hands. it amazed me each time how people seemed to know the value of certain things or needs. Of course, this all depends on the person doing the bartering.

Here is a rather large what if though.

What if tomorrow we woke up with massive stock, crashes to the point where the dollar amounts to nothing?

What would the world be like in a moneyless society? Would we accept it and move on to Brighter better things? Or just stay stagnant in an endless spiral of death. That just happens to be the basis of quite a few stories I can think of and the consequences.

what happens in those books can be a reality if we aren’t too careful. But I think they have some things wrong. Just something though. Hopefully we note that such things aren’t written in stone. Thank God.

But it does beg the question. What would life be like in a society with no money? In reality, I can see the world fall down the drain for a little while. I mean it usually does when something that is such an Intercal part is taken away. The government may crumble in the rich and powerful would be at the mercy of the masses. Status would not mean as much as it would be.

Money has become such a big thing in our lives. It does make the world go round so to speak that is. We would probably find out the world shit revolver on money fast if it disappeared. And those who have the most of it would have serious issues. We would probably find out that the world doesn’t revolve around money, and it is a cause of a selfish attitude in the rich in famous.

The good thing is that it would mean more people getting the resources They deserve like the homeless. Everybody would be getting houses and food and jobs very quickly depending on where they live on the other hand. It probably also helped with labor shortages, not to mention more healthy people. by the way, I am talking about if during current times we ran out of money. Let us not go all medieval on everything. Will it bring us together or divide us deeper? Who knows everyone would have to do their part from the littlest to the biggest. So, in a way, it could be a blessing if we caused the dollar or money, in general, to be ineffective in day-to-day life.

Or could it be in a reemergence? A reemergence of simpler times. I know many people often wish we could go back to the way it was. Heck, even Rascal Flatts sings about it. Could it be a way to return to our roots? I’m not alone in this wish. A lot of people I’ve talked to unknown seem to have the same line of thinking it seems the world would be so much simpler if we went back to the day of the horse and buggy with current tech.

of course but imagine how much cleaner the air would be not to mention less traffic to worry about not only that, but less stress and more focus on how you can help the world be a better place by trading with Whatever goods you have at your disposal for the ones you need.

Also, there would be a huge surge of arts and crafts come to think of it, not only that, but apprenticing with rise rapidly, and that would be pretty fun. A prime example of this is often seen in the outskirts of the world, namely, the Amish communities and other such places.

On the flip side, it could be a bad thing. I was watching Naked and Afraid; last one standing the other night. That got me thinking about how it would most likely play out. There were nice people but one stood out as a asshole. for lack of a better term. There is one guy on there that as soon as he gets any resources he hogs them all. Basically making it really uncomfortable for anybody else to utilize the resources needed.

Depends on your view of the future of our world. you may be like the businessmen of the world. where you have a difficult time seeing it come to pass. they use it for everything. And I do mean for every little tiny thing you can possibly imagine. Even little day-to-day things that the common person or the poor person would be shocked to find out.

the poor have no problem wondering what it would be like. they are out of it more often than not. Hence why there's such a boom in the homeless population so I think that they probably would be fine with there being no money in the world. But then again the barter systems are strong in those communities. I'm having gone through it and witnessed it I can tell you it is truly alive and well. You just need to again be careful who you trust and who you get things from.

All in all, in my personal opinion I think the world could do with a little bit less being so dependent on money and a little more dependent on well the better things in life. Like relationships and the things that money can't buy so to speak. Honestly in my opinion as well I wish we could go to kind of half and half bartering and half monetary. I think it would be a good thing if we can find some balance between the two. But it has yet to come to fruition. I guess I'll just have to enjoy reading all the books out there about such societies.

Humanity
Like

About the Creator

Emily Edwards

Hello, I’m Emily. My psuedo name is Malina Dixon and I’m the creative mind behind Write Sparky.

I’ve always been passionate about writing, My whole life has centered it in some form or another.

Thanks for any and all comments.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.