Confessions logo

Rain On Me

Mountain Out of a Mole Hill

By Steffany PopePublished 12 months ago 6 min read
1
https://www.pxfuel.com/en/desktop-wallpaper-txpxa

Zuri and Edward had been together for five years, and they were deeply in love. They had been through thick and thin together, and they knew each other inside out. Zuri was a successful businesswoman, and Edward was a stay-at-home dad, taking care of their two-year-old daughter, Mia.

Zuri loved to come home to Edward and Mia after a long day at work, but something had been bothering her for a while. She had noticed that Edward had been acting a little strange lately. He seemed distant and preoccupied, and Zuri couldn't help but wonder if he was hiding something from her.

One day, Zuri decided to confront Edward about his behavior. "Is everything okay, Edward?" she asked, looking at him with concern.

Edward hesitated for a moment before replying. "Yeah, everything's fine. Why do you ask?"

"I don't know," Zuri said. "You just seem a little off lately. Is there something you want to talk about?"

Edward shook his head. "No, there's nothing to talk about."

Zuri wasn't convinced. She knew there was something going on, but she didn't know what it was.

For the next few weeks, Zuri tried to get Edward to open up to her, but he remained tight-lipped. She started to worry that he was having an affair, and the thought made her sick to her stomach.

One day, Zuri decided to confront Edward once again. "Edward, please tell me what's going on. I can't take this anymore."

Edward looked at her for a moment before finally speaking. "I don't know how to tell you this, Zuri, but there's something I've been doing that I haven't told you about."

Zuri's heart sank. This was it. He was going to confess to having an affair.

Edward took a deep breath before continuing. "I pee in the shower."

Zuri was taken aback. "What? That's it? That's why you've been acting so strange?"

Edward nodded. "I know it's gross, but I can't help it. I've been doing it for years, and I didn't want to tell you because I was afraid you'd be disgusted with me."

Zuri couldn't believe it. She had been so worried about something so trivial. She laughed and hugged Edward. "Is that all? I don't care about that. I love you, no matter what."

Edward hugged her back. "I love you too, Zuri. I'm sorry for keeping it from you."

Zuri was relieved that Edward's secret was something so small, but at the same time, she couldn't help but feel a little disappointed. She had built up the idea in her head that Edward was having an affair, and now that she knew the truth, she felt silly for even thinking that.

However, Zuri couldn't shake off the feeling that there was something more to Edward's behavior. She started to pay closer attention to his actions and noticed that he was still acting strange.

One day, Zuri decided to do a little investigating. She went through Edward's phone and found nothing suspicious. She checked his emails and social media accounts, but everything seemed normal.

But then, Zuri stumbled upon a message from Edward's old high school friend, Miguel. The message was innocuous, but Zuri noticed that Edward had been texting with Miguel a lot lately. She decided to dig a little deeper and found that Edward had been meeting up with Miguel behind her back.

Zuri was furious. She couldn't believe that Edward had been lying to her again. She confronted him, and at first, he denied it. But when Zuri showed him the evidence, Edward finally confessed.

"I'm sorry, Zuri. I didn't mean to keep it from you. Miguel and I have just been catching up, and I didn't think it was a big deal."

Zuri was hurt. She couldn't understand why Edward would lie to her about something so innocent. But the more she thought about it, the more she realized that it wasn't about Miguel. It was about the fact that Edward had been keeping something from her again.

Zuri and Edward had a long talk that night, and they both realized that their relationship had been based on honesty and trust. They promised each other that they would always be truthful, no matter what.

Over the next few weeks, Zuri and Edward worked on rebuilding their relationship. They went to couples therapy and started to communicate more openly. Slowly but surely, their love grew stronger.

One day, Edward surprised Zuri by taking her on a weekend getaway to a cabin in the woods. They spent the weekend hiking, cooking, and cuddling by the fire. Zuri couldn't believe how much she loved Edward, despite everything they had been through.

As they were getting ready to leave the cabin, Zuri noticed that Edward had left his phone behind. She picked it up to give it to him, but as she did, she noticed a notification on the screen.

It was a message from Miguel, but before Zuri could read it, Edward snatched the phone out of her hand.

"What are you hiding?" Zuri asked, looking at Edward with suspicion.

Edward hesitated for a moment before finally speaking. "It's nothing, Zuri. Just some guy stuff."

Zuri wasn't convinced. She knew that Edward was keeping something from her, and it made her uneasy.

When they got back home, Zuri couldn't help but think about Edward's behavior. She decided to confront him once again.

"Edward, what's going on? Why won't you tell me what's going on with Miguel?"

I apologize for that. Let me continue where I left off.

Edward looked at her for a moment before speaking. "Zuri, I'm sorry. I didn't want to tell you because I thought it would upset you. I've been planning a surprise for you, but I needed to keep it a secret."

Zuri was confused but intrigued. "What kind of surprise?"

Edward smiled. "I've been working on a project for months now, and I wanted to surprise you with it. But I needed to keep it a secret until it was ready."

Zuri's curiosity was piqued, and she couldn't wait to see what Edward had been working on.

A few days later, Edward told Zuri to close her eyes and led her into their backyard. When she opened her eyes, Zuri couldn't believe what she saw. Edward had built her a beautiful garden, complete with a fountain, vegetable patch, and flower beds.

Zuri was speechless. She had always dreamed of having a garden, but she never had the time or skill to make it happen.

Edward smiled. "I know how much you love nature, and I wanted to create a space where we could relax and enjoy it together."

Zuri hugged Edward tightly, feeling grateful for his love and commitment to making her happy.

From that day on, Zuri and Edward's love grew even stronger. They learned that trust and honesty were the foundations of their relationship, and they promised to never keep secrets from each other again.

As they sat in their garden, watching the sunset, Zuri realized that Edward's secret about peeing in the shower didn't matter at all. It was just a small quirk that made him human, and she loved him all the more for it.

Note from Author:

Sometimes, it’s best not to go looking for something; especially if you are not ready to find what you think you’ll find. Sometimes, you’ll find nothing. However, your actions will change that nothing into something soon enough. And that my Dears is something no one is ever ready to find. Don’t go try fixing something that ain’t broke.

If you liked this poem, you can add your Insights, Comment, leave a Heart, Tip, Pledge, or Subscribe. I will appreciate any support you have shown for my work.

You can find more poems, stories, and articles by Steffany Pope on my Vocal profile. I complain, argue, provoke and create...just like everybody else.

Give it a look...

FamilyTabooSecretsBad habits
1

About the Creator

Steffany Pope

Dealing with mental health problems has been hard. I've lived my whole life believing that no one understood me. I realized, my mind is not for others to understand; but for my edification of self awareness. So, I write to understand me.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.