Confessions logo

Oops!

It would've helped if I was paying attention to the photo on the front of the bathroom door before entering.

By Megan MillerPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
2
Oops!
Photo by Jelleke Vanooteghem on Unsplash

I wish I could say this incident only happened once in my life, but unfortunately there's been many times I've walked into the wrong bathroom in a public place. I think the big question is, which one is worse: A woman walking into a men's bathroom? Or is it a man walking into a woman's bathroom?

On one hand, if a woman were to walk into a man's bathroom, she may walk in right as another man is peeing in one of the urinals. However, if a man walks into a woman's bathroom, all the stalls are closed, but it's a very taboo situation and if a woman is currently in there, she may get scared to see an unexpected visitor just waltz in there.

By Hanson Lu on Unsplash

When I was younger, there were many nights where I chose not to sleep. I was 20 years old, and figured "hey, I can sleep some other night." During that time in my life I just wanted to have fun as much as possible. I wasn't married and didn't have any kids, so all I had to do was make sure I made it to work on time. Even my job was really easy, so sleep wasn't needed for me to get through the day of checking people in and out of a hotel. I was my own person, and this person just didn't want to sleep.

So with that being said, my decision not to sleep the night before was the ultimate cause of this unfortunate incident. The morning of this really unfortunate event started hazy, as my choice not to sleep was just catching up to me around 8 am.

I decided to go to Albertson's to buy an energy shot and a quick bit to eat. As I was walking through the store, I remember that I was so tired, it felt like I was floating through the isles. I began to get confused and forgot what I came there for, as my tiredness continued to overtake my brain. I managed to get my items, and head over to the cashier to pay. Luckily that went pretty well. It was a standard "hello, how are you?" To the cashier lady while I stumbled to get my debit card out of my purse to pay.

Once I paid for my items, I began walking towards the exit then I realized I had to go to the bathroom. "No big deal," I always think to myself. Using a public restroom is always pretty normal, and I've used this one many times. So I entered the restroom, and go into the one and only stall that was in there. I sit down to pee, and then it hit me. "Oh no... no no no no no."

By Oliver Hale on Unsplash

Please tell me I'm not in the men's bathroom! How could I not realize that? There was a urinal right there when I walked in! I was looking right at it..... And now there is someone else in the bathroom with me, and I think he knows I'm a woman. "No big deal," I think to myself. I'll just wait until he leaves, so I can leave and not have to look anyone in the eye. But he doesn't leave..

"What is he doing?" I'm thinking to myself. He's just standing there. So I had to do what anyone else would do in my situation, I looked through the small opening between the bathroom stall and the door of the stall. You know...that little crack of opening that people sometimes look through when they are being a creeper. I look through the small opening, and see someone staring back at me.

Oh my god, now it's definitely confirmed. He knows I'm not supposed to be here, so he's just standing there, waiting for me to open the door. While feeling ultimately mortified, I stand there, for what feels like forever, still staring. And unfortunately, so does he. We both stand there staring at each other for about 2 more minutes, and then he finally turns around and leaves.

By Michael Jasmund on Unsplash

Oh thank god. I got out of the stall and ran out of the bathroom as fast as I could. Thankfully, while running out of the men's restroom, I didn't run into anyone else so I can safely say that I saved myself from even more embarrassment. The worse part about this whole ordeal, is that it wasn't even the last time I made this mistake. The only difference between this time, and the other times after, is that I at least realized it was the wrong bathroom from the beginning so I didn't make it all the way to the stall.

This is just one of many embarrassing moments I've had in my life, but definitely one of the most memorable. I guess the moral of this story is....

Don't sleep walk through the grocery store, it doesn't end well.

Embarrassment
2

About the Creator

Megan Miller

My name is Megan and I'm looking to connect with the world. I want to share my stories of life, love, and struggles so that maybe other people can be reminded that we all have a story to tell.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.