Confessions logo

Near fight mid-flight...

Or, "That time I almost popped open a can of whoop ass whilst on a 'flying can' w/ a total ass"

By Nefarious DarriusPublished about a year ago 4 min read
1
P/c: JUNO KWON of Busan; vía Pixabay. Please check them out and show Love. Thanks in advance.

7APR2023; 1950, FRI– Maryland, USA

"Here we go, yo; here we go, yo! So what; so what; so what's the scenario?!"- A Tribe Called Quest on the 1991 remix of "Scenario".

Rest In Power to Phyfe Dawg; the late, great 3x OG. I grew up jamming out to that legendary group; in case you're wondering why I remember a banger from when I was literally in my terrible two's.

Now that I've eased you into the scenario of my almost getting knocked for accosting a random stranger; arguably for no good reason whatsoever. Let me try and set the stage "actually factually" and "truly duly".

I'm completely certain that the onboard air marshal was finna be on my big behind; much like I felt the angel of death's unmistakable grip upon myself not long before I awoke today. "I do believe" that I was on the brink of passing in my sleep this AM.

So, why in the world would I want to take this not-so tall tale to the grave; when it could feasibly grow a tail, and assist me in telling my Truth; what with the potentiality of getting paid for being (with) *VOCAL*? Maybe someone somewhere will learn from my many, myriad mistakes in this particular matter.

Since the housekeeping is out of the way, let's go'n 'head and taxi this runway. Shall we?

***

So, "no joke!" I'm sitting on a random flight from the DMV (DC, MD, VA) area back to the Seattle region; where my first and only duty station was.

This is just over a dozen (12) years ago; mind you. When I was fresh out of Iraq still; and just finished visiting home for Christmas/NYE (New Year 's Eve) leave.

Just to set the parameters, I spent several of the days prior to 25DEC2010 being shown up in NYC by a dear Brotha Man and his homies; who were all "hood rich", as well as native to the 'hoods that we were kicking it in.

I spent the following few weeks at home essentially being put to shame by my homeboys and homegirls too. Suffice it to say that I might could've been "a smidge" wiser with the roughly 27 racks ($27k) that Uncle Sam gave as a signing bonus prior to me finishing my one and only deployment.

Also, I'm not too proud to admit that I wasn't quite the peaceful individual that I happen to be nowadays. Just to give you a general idea of the mood that I'm in when in this aforementioned airplane back to the Evergreen State.

So, please try to imagine my chagrin when I realize that I may just be a tad bit hungry; tho, inflight meals are nowhere near comp(limentary). Dovetail that with the fact of the matter that I must have let out a huge sigh, or something to that effect; 'cause the palpably privileged son of a gun seated directly in front of me.

I swore that I'd never allow myself to forget his face nor his voice. Alas, alcohol and age have gotten the better of me in that regard.

At any rate, after I evidently set this guy off with my bad breath, or something; I'll be damned if I don't have to sit and listen to him intentionally, as well as flippantly flaunt/flex with what's likely money his daddy's old man stole from my Pops' Pa; or what have you.

I'm not proud of this; at all. However, it took nearly everything in me to resist the urge to get physical with my newfound rival ; after the stewardess left to grab his grub and drink.

Now, when I tell you that the alcohol "Joe Blow" got in his system was enough to enable this schmuck to put the patience of even a Buddhist monk to the test... Long story short, I left everyone unharmed; and licked my wounds on the drive home from the airport by contemplating more ways to be effective financially.

Effectiveness that would be pertinent regardless of the socioeconomic climate of anti-Blackness; which likely isn't going anywhere anytime soon. C'est la vie.

***

***

Prayerfully, you gained something pertinent (re: useful) from this post. If so, then please think about considering a show of support; however you may see fit.

Additionally, I'm easily reachable via Twitter. That's for private and/or public convos on the works written by me, my fav writers, as well as my other influences too.

The link in my bio will "counterintuitively" have that unmistakable tab in its main menu. Invariably, there's a tab in the very same menu cyclically returning you to my profile on this unfathomably superb site for writers.

Shoutout to all Vocal's inventors/staff/readers/writers. "[Y'all] the real MVP."

Lastly, if you're in the market for an incredulously original article of clothing or such: There's copious amounts at the link in my bio. Please don't believe for a NY minute that I'll be even remotely unappreciative of any all who "look out for the cookout".

***

Bad habitsTabooSecretsHumanityEmbarrassment
1

About the Creator

Nefarious Darrius

I'm a Grunt who’s been stuck in traffic for the past few decades or so. From DC to Seattle & Iraq; to back in "The Swamp". Also, I Love my Progeny more than life. Born Day: 4/20. Lastly, my apparel brand, War 'N' Tees is live! One Love.

***

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.