Confessions logo

My secret addiction.

Ok, not so secret now.

By sara burdickPublished about a year ago 3 min read
1
My secret addiction.
Photo by Kristina Flour on Unsplash

It seems that every few months, the ¨how I start my super productive day, morning routine¨ begins to circulate through the blogosphere and YouTube-sphere.

Each time I think I should get up at 5 am, 6 am, or 7 am… well, I sometimes roll out of bed at 7 or 8, or 9. I usually have no rush to start my day unless I have a plane, train, bus, or boat to catch, and even then, my alarm often fails to go off, but I eventually make it.

Then, my internal clock wakes me up.

The first thing I do, when I wake up is drink water, that had become a habit for about the past ten years, and then I lay in bed and grab my phone.

I know all self-help gurus or those who think they know best just rolled their eyes. NOT THE PHONE!

¨Has she not read my blog about how unproductive getting on your phone is in the morning¨.

¨Well, Bob, obviously, this is why she is a nonproductive potato until about 12¨.

So yes, I do not walk, work out, or read; I do lay in bed and do my WORDLE. Thanks to my brother, he got me addicted and hooked, and if I cannot get it within about 15 minutes, I will put my phone down, get coffee, and get back to it.

Lately, though, I have been getting it before I roll out of bed. Practice does make almost perfect. Except for the other day, seriously, Kayak.

When they use double letters, it always confuses me, and I then cuss at the game and either accept defeat, which rarely happens or tell my sister how stupid the word was today.

She forgets to do it, so I always remind her; not like she has a kid, a farm, a husband, and a job to think of, so I nudge her.. did you get the WORDLE. It is obviously the most important thing on her list, so usually, later afternoon, she responds, got it.

I don’t ask my brother, as he has always been the genius in the family and gets it on the second or first try because, apparently, he is some brilliant being who knows the word in his sleep or something; I am not.

He will say it’s so obvious if I do not get it. Yes, thanks, bro; after you get it, of course, it’s obvious.

All jokes aside; I love doing it; I started doing a different brain game because I was playing a match game with my niece, and she kept beating me; I was so annoyed beat by a 6-year-old, who always plays, but still.

I thought, OMG am I losing my mind already? I am too young for that to happen, so I became obsessed with strength training my brain, and that’s how my WORDLE addiction began.

I was always bad at the match games; I can barely focus on more than one thing, so WORDLE is a perfect brain training exercise in case I really am losing my mind (**buys blueberries in bulk).

My secret addiction is revealed, I feel so relieved, and yes, I already did my WORDLE, I mean, it is almost 11 am, and it was an easy one today!

Is anyone else a secret addict? My favorite word was BROKE since it’s a running theme of the world right now. My sister and I laughed and said I think NYTimes is trying to tell us something.

I dare you to try it out and see if you get as addicted as me. Of course, I wake up at 5 am and have an entire workout, green juice, meditate, write 800 stories, and then I do WORDLE.

Edited with Grammarly, NOT GRAMMARLY go, is AI now being shoved down our throats? I am human and might make an error; I am ok with that.

XOXO

S

Originally published here.

Secrets
1

About the Creator

sara burdick

I quit the rat race after working as a nurse for 16 years. I now write online and live abroad, currently Nomading, as I search for my forever home. Personal Stories, Travel and History

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Steffany Ritchieabout a year ago

    Ha, I love Wordle! Drives me crazy too though! 🥴 I haven't played in a few days, oops! My brain is foggy this week, I probably wouldn't get it anyway lol!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.