Confessions logo

A love trapped and lost

I was trapped in a cage, unable to fly. My wings cut, but I was unsure why.

By sara burdickPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like
Medellin, Colombia

It was little by little enough for me to shrink.

I shrink, I shrank, and I did not drink. Each day I contorted, screaming inside, but why?

The life I had, I thought I wanted, but it was you I did not want.

Why could I not fly? Why did you want to place a beautiful bird inside this cage?

Except you did not have the key, now I know why. I wanted you to see that I could be that girl who does not fly.

The one who is content and happy as is, except it was a lie. A lie to me and you, and the worst of all, I wished it was true.

Each day as I sat and watched. I saw the birds outside the window, and I thought, how magical they are outside in the sun, how they play and frolic, unhinged as I used to be. It was me, the one you did not see.

They do not want to pretend to be. They instead just be. I shapeshifted myself into clay. If you saw that I was a magician, you would want to play.

I see now that you would never; you could not. The wonder of my colors made you blind. You could not see; I am, after all, a shapeshifting wonder.

You, too, are a magician at play, as the thunder blinded me. With the dark clouds of gray and the rain inside, I thought if you saw the ray, you would surely come out of your cave. You did not. You hid behind the ruse, the shaded facade.

A simple man, yet you hid it well. The darkness inside, I, too, have hidden that from many. Except for one day, I stepped out, and there was no thunder; instead, the stars made me wonder.

The darkness was gone, or so I thought. To see the light, we must have the sight that we are both the alchemy of light. The thunder is there, and the light is there, in perfect harmony to share.

Instead of anger, the love came in and began to peak out slowly; when I saw you, I realized that I had more work to do. As I am you and you are me, except you showed me the dark corners that still have cobwebs to clean.

Forever grateful that my mind is open; instead of anger, I will clean.

From the inside out instead of the outside in. Why does society have it so backward?

We meet the person at the time we need to learn, sometimes though we are stubborn. It takes some time, anger, and grief to realize it was a relief.

The hurt, the pain, to realize it was just the rain.

When we come alive and shine so bright, the devil will show up to ensure we got it right. We fail, over and over, yet one day we will tumble over.

It will hurt, and you may scream, was it just a dream?

Was I ever there in that pink house on the mountain?

The love we shared was nothing more than a blip, a scare. A twist, a turn, for me to yearn, to learn to turn and be aware.

Maybe you will still be sad, you will perhaps still be mad, but I hope you are glad. You will see, we are here just to be.

A game of life. Did you spin too fast or too slow?

Did you end up with the split level or Tudor? Who cares. Did you get the job of your dreams? Most likely not.

Instead, we end at the end and wish we saw it was just a dream so have more fun. A game of life, a blink of an eye, to move on to the sky.

Dating
Like

About the Creator

sara burdick

I quit the rat race after working as a nurse for 16 years. I now write online and live abroad, currently Nomading, as I search for my forever home. Personal Stories, Travel and History

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.