Confessions logo

My Own "Dance Hall Days"

An Open-Ended Obsession Whose Cost Is Still Up In The Air

By Z-ManPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like

As I was listening to "Woody Boogie" by Baltimora for probably upwards of the sixtieth-nineth (kidding), perhaps even the hundredth time, I was inspired to write this specific foray into articlicity (my recently-new word for delving into the art(?) of article writing.

You see,

(Oh, isn't that intro so typical)

I spent years going to the restaurant-bar and spinning around on the same dance floor, for upwards of nothing. Sure, the years were chock-full of pleasant conversation with people I thought could actually be my friends, but that's where people being nice because they feel their job is on the line if they don't becomes a real jab at humanity.

But it was comfortable for me there, and although there were perks, like women approaching me and compliments about my dance moves, and whatever, it really amounted for nil for me. Especially now, when that place is closed forever due to COVID's effect on its associated businesses. Really, it's probably the only place that closed. The other biggies in town seemingly haven't been touched. And this place was always busy, too.

But I digress.

The Age of COVID took its toll on me--from cancelling the San Jose UPW, to closing my go-to place forever, to yada, yada, yada.

.............................

So let's get to how what I am writing here may help you.

I have no immediate cure...BUT I can at least share what limited me, and what the somewhat "literal" results were, so maybe it can lead you to even a minor shift in direction or approach.

(Of course, where you are directed towards, and how you approach something, both need a specific destination, now, don't they?)

  • I was almost always flying solo. Because I am more introverted, and don't give a damn about sports, and also don't want to deal with needy, insecure men, it was always hard for me to approach people myself, especially women, who are of course my main reason for going out; my main endgame. Believe me, I love to inspire people, even with my dance moves--to bring them to new heights...show them the wonders of movement+music=mental imagery...give them strength, etc.--but I wanted love for so long...and romance...and it never happened there. In five years or so, I could never make it work.
  • I had a few great opportunities for love. One especially I boffed up. I had literally just bought a drink, turned, and essentially had a girl offer for me to have a drink with her. She didn't show physical signs she was my type, but something about her was perfect. But because I had LITERALLY just bought a drink, I turned her down for then. But I liked her, and I wanted her. Keep in mind, I was staying with my grandmother, and was spending like $30 dollars every night, and even a $10 drink is not worth the price that my actions cost me. I should have dumped that fecking drink and shared one with her. But, now, as I always say: the most important people in my life may not be here now if anything had gone ANY different then. So, in the end, it was not my loss, at all. AT ALL.
  • Try to say more than one sentence to somebody, especially if you like them, but also if you are not really interested in them. Because, really, a "how you doing?" isn't enough. People will all generally give you the, "good, how are you?" or something. No further progress will come, because it doesn't mean jack shite when everyone else does the same thing. It could be you sound like they are not special to you, because, hey, it's the same shite everyone says, so where is the room to think it means anything different than it does?
  • Again, don't be fooled by people working somewhere who are being nice. Even if they seem more genuine than the rest, tread softly. They still may not give any more of a shite for you than their job or financial income demands of them. Probably nothing PERSONAL....but, in the words of Ian Malcolm..."Well, there it is."
  • If you like someone, GET THEIR CONTACT INFORMATION. Otherwise, you will NEVER see them again. Also, on that note, take the opportunity when you have it, because even if you think you will be in the same bar for hours, don't fecking COUNT on it.
  • BE YOURSELF. But by that, I perhaps mean do it with tact, okay? Remember people will associate what you bring to your mutual table, whether it be positive or negative. After all, we have our own perceptions of things. What is neutral to you may have more negative, or even positive, connotations to someone else. So use general perceptions and pleasantries, perhaps, to your advantage in opening the hearts of others.
  • Finally, again: GET THEIR FECKING CONTACT INFORMATION IF YOU LIKE THEM. TAKE THE CHANCE WHILE IT IS THERE, BECAUSE YOU WILL NEVER SEE THEM AGAIN, WHETHER THEY LIKE YOU, LOVE YOU, OR NOT.

PLEASE. PLEASE. PLEASE. DO NOT LEAVE YOUR HEART TO WALLOW IN THAT PERMANENT DUST.

SHOW YOUR LOVE. RECIPRICATE THEIR LOVE. BECAUSE YOU ONLY HAVE ONE MOMENT.

NOT THEN.

BUT NOW.

You and I may never meet, but for what its worth, I really care about you. Please be good to yourself; your heart; and theirs. If one of us is let down, we are all let down.

But be thankful for all those who you have now. Because if things had happened ANY differently, they may not be here. So remember that too. ALWAYS.

Give your loves a hug today. Tell them you love them. Let your heart soar.

Thank you. I'll write to you again later.

Humanity
Like

About the Creator

Z-Man

\m/,

Hello all! I am an aspiring vocalist, filmmaker + writer. I hope you gain something personal + inspiring from my work here. You are also welcome to subscribe to my YouTube Channel: Ad-Libbing With The Zman.

Thank You!

Zach

B']

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.