Confessions logo

My mother the house keeper. Thank you, mom.

Why didn't women see their worth more back then?

By Coolest Bean Published 2 years ago 4 min read
Like

Been a minute since I wrote on here. I have this weird thing. This is all new territory for me. I come from an old line of...thinking? It's not thinking. Like I don't think women should only cook and clean. So easy now ladies. Draw those claws back now. I'm not saying that's how it should be. Nor ever have been. Not at all. But if someone wanted to do that be it man or woman, their choice 😁 See back in the day that's now it was. Look no further than my parents. I have amazing parents. I was very lucky that I was adopted into this family. My parents grew up poor. Both of them. My dad traded his high school car, a Plymouth Superbird for his first John Deere 410. I don't know why that's relevant. I'm all over the place here. I want to become a writer and I think I do have it in me to be one, but I think I need some guidance. People tell me I write way too much when I do and that I get off topic. But see, to me, from my view, how can you explain everything, how can I get the reader to feel what I'm telling them personally? You gotta make it personal to the reader I feel. And you gotta help them understand why you came to a decision you did and what was the factors of the decision and what made you ultimately decide on this. I feel it helps the reader understand more. Even if they don't agree with it, I like them to know how I came to the view I did. Anyways. I had a great childhood. My father while strict and kind of a "tightwad", lol, went from nothing to a VERY successful farm. In its heyday when I was growing up he farmed sometimes close to 3500 acres of row crop and had 200 head of cattle. I worked for him as early as I can remember. When I turned 14 I got an official job at HyVee Food Stores and mowed 10-15 yards in the summertime. My mother is a very religious person. Weird because no one in her family is. But she is. And dad, everyone in his family is super religious...but him. Ha. Anyways my dad has it good. Real good. In terms of when he comes home. He broke his back in a tractor rollover before I was even born. Had two metal rids put into sides but those broke in the early 90s. I remember the pain he was in growing up. Sometimes having to stop the tractor and lay down flat on the field for 15ish minutes. So he has worked his ass off all his life. My biggest hero. And why I feel so ashamed trying to get SSI. And even more, embarrassing because I'm struggling even with a lawyer and medical proof. But back to my whole original point. 🤦🏻‍♂️ My mother keeps her house immaculate. She uses to vacuum EVERY. SINGLE. DAY. Do curtains, wash dishes, make all beds, fold all clothes. She is the trooper behind the scenes. As So many women from the period were. I think this was late in the period when a woman was a housewife no more. Kate 60s. My mom worked part-time at a bank until she got hurt in a three-wheeler accident when I was 4. And couldn't stand or walk properly. But to this day, she cleans at least twice a week. Still folds their laundry and make their beds. She makes the guys (dad and his two hired hands) lunches and takes them to them when they are in the field. Whether it be planting season or harvesting. When she knows dad will be home she always has a warm meal waiting for him still. He doesn't know how lucky he is. Or does he? LOL, He knows. Trust me My mom found out she has osteoporosis and a week later fell and broke her ankle. Her ankle and back are the weakest areas. So she has been on a scooter and crutches and walking boots for a month. Dad was quickly reminded how good he has it. Lmao. I'll be writing soon about how back in the day guys married girls at 14 to have children. My grandpa was one of those. He and my grandmother were 15 years apart. They both were the nicest people who would give the shirt off their backs for you. Does that make it any better? Depends on who you ask and your stance on it originally. A few things I found out might shock ya. Thank you for taking the time to read my scattered mess. That's just me. Maybe my one unique gaff as a writer. Or someone who wants to write. I apologize to all the actual writers out there for calling myself one. I'm not. But I desperately want to be. My head is just exploding with stories and ideas. Some that would make a TON of money. I don't share my one idea as I don't want it stolen. So if you know anyone good at building a website and promoting... looks me up. And I'm 100 percent serious. I know my idea would work. I just don't know how to build a site or app. I tried Wix. Naw... It's not me. Lmao. Not smart at those. Anyways I have a doctor appt in 40 minutes and I'm 30 minutes away gotta Run.

Family
Like

About the Creator

Coolest Bean

mardkdknd e ds.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.