Confessions logo

My Journey In Homeschooling

What it's Been Like To today

By Jazmin del Valle Published 2 years ago 3 min read
1
My Journey In Homeschooling
Photo by Sigmund on Unsplash

Hello, I am a mom to two small children that recently started homeschooling. And out of those two wonders of the world that I created one of them has special needs and the other with sensory issues. Which we all know have have its up and downs. Before this day, they were like any small children and I will send them off every morning to public school.

We would start off our daily routine with the struggle of waking them up. Then we will eat breakfast that seems endless and a never-ending task. I would do my daughter's hair as she would eat her yogurt as her first meal of the day. Then finally, they would put on their school uniform and then were headed out the door. But of course, I can't forget the crying and tears that would come before leaving the house. When walking to the train or bus itself felt like a task that would take half an hour to get there. Just so you can know we live across from the bus stop and about three blocks away from the train.

By Kelly Sikkema on Unsplash

Now, circling back to this day, to our journey of homeschooling. I let them wake up naturally. Don't get me wrong breakfast still takes forever ( I laugh slightly as I write this). We sometimes get dressed or just stay in our PJs. Each day is a new day and a new journey, but at times looks the same. Nowadays the only time I wake them up is if we have somewhere planned to go. Which I have to say feels amazing not giving crazy every single day from Monday through Friday.

We have a dance party after breakfast, to move our bodies. With my youngest, we color, draw, play games and learn as we go. With my oldest, we do our morning curriculum on the laptop. Then we take a lunchtime break for one hour. Yes, you read that right, our lunch break is for one hour. They get to choose what they want to do during that time.

After we come back from lunch we do some hands go work or just play some educational games. It can be anything from them making up their own games that involves math and/or spelling. If you really think about it the combination of games they can come up with is extraordinary. As I said before, there are days that look different. I can even have them help me wash clothes or learn how to make a new meal.

There are days that we go on a field trip and maybe just hop on a train and see where it takes us. You be surprised at what can be though with just a simple walk around different neighborhoods. At times a lesson can even be at a park or beach with a nice blanket and some snacks We can even go away whenever we please, and not have to wait till school vacation. We still make our vacation as educational as possible and learn something new when we can.

By Charlein Gracia on Unsplash

Don't get me wrong, there is a load of paperwork to be filled out. Which I can tell you is the most boring part of it all. But it can be so much fun if you make it fun for you and your kids at home or wherever you are. And you may be wondering, "Don't your kids miss the socialization they get at school?" And the answer to that is not really, because we still socailize with different events we take a part in.

So let me know if you ever tried homeschooling and what style do you use?

Family
1

About the Creator

Jazmin del Valle

Hello I am a mom of two young beautiful children. I love to be creative any possible way and when I can. I like to try my best in writing blogs, short stories, poems and everything else. I hope you too enjoy what I have to write.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.