Confessions logo

My Battle With Binge Eating

Do I live to eat or do I eat to live?

By IvanaChPublished 10 months ago 6 min read
3

For a long time, I believed that my struggles were merely a result of a personal flaw or bad habit. Little did I know that my problem had a real name and that I was suffering from a disease that affects many others as well. This realization brought me both relief and comfort, knowing that I wasn't alone in my journey of battling this affliction.

It all started over 10 years ago, when I began working at chocolate shop of a Slovakian manufacturer.

There is a wide assortment of delicious products available, such as chocolate bars, fruits, nuts, chocolate covered marzipan, various chocolate lollipops, and fabulous pralines in a variety of delicious flavors, including hot chocolate.

I wanted to try everything, I was so gluttonous! I felt like the weird mayor in the movie "Chocolat"starring with Johnny Depp (I love that movie!) who fell asleep in the shop window after eating too much chocolate :)

I never had enough! Definitely one of my favorites are our delicate pralines, and I assume that they mainly started my whole problems with overeating.

Over time, my need for sugar increased more and more, I always wanted something sweet, and I was nervous when I couldn't have it...I simply became an addict! I alternated between winning and losing on a daily basis.

I felt out of energy, often frustrated and helpless, but I couldn't stop...Sometimes I would snack so much even when I was already full but that didn't stop me..I often felt nauseous, had heartburn or headache and felt very guilty and pitiful for myself.

I realized how bad it is when I started hiding candy wrappers to make it look like I had everything under control in front of everybody else... But the opposite was true. As soon as I got to work, I had to eat something sweet. It was a necessity!

Over the course of 3 years, I gradually gained 8 kg, and felt like an absolute failure :( My clothes didnt fit anymore, I looked fat and my self-confindence and self-esteem dropped very low.

Chocolate consumption was gradually joined by fast food, chips and other junk food. My body just became insatiable and I constantly craved something.

I started looking for various videos and articles on the Internet, how could I get rid of this ailment once and for all without telling anyone and became normal like before. And informations what I found could help anybody who is struggling with this unpleasant disorder.

Approaching sensitively is essential when undertaking the process of self-revelation. While it can be an unpleasant and painful journey for some, it is crucial to be patient, persistent and kind to oneself.

The main trigger behind overeating can vary from person to person, and it is essential to understand these triggers in order to find effective solutions.

One common trigger for overeating is boredom. When individuals have idle time with no engaging activities or hobbies to occupy their minds, they may turn to food as a source of entertainment. The act of eating can provide temporary pleasure and distract from the monotony of boredom. However, this habit can lead to excessive calorie intake and weight gain if not addressed.

Stress is another trigger that can lead to overeating. When individuals are under stress, their bodies produce cortisol, a hormone that increases appetite. This physiological response, coupled with emotional responses to stress, can drive individuals to seek solace in food. Over time, this can lead to unhealthy eating patterns and weight gain.

Emotional trauma can also be a significant trigger for overeating. People who have experienced emotional distress, such as grief, loss, or past trauma, may turn to food as a way to cope with their emotions. Food can provide comfort and temporarily alleviate emotional pain.

A lack of love, attention, fun, or adventure in life can also contribute to overeating. When individuals feel unfulfilled or dissatisfied in certain areas of their lives, they may turn to food for comfort or as a way to fill the void. This can lead to a cycle of emotional eating, as individuals seek temporary pleasure and distraction from their unmet needs.

My biggest triggers are lack of motivation, lack of excitement, and an unsatisfying love life. I often struggled with self-doubt about my direction in life, and worried that I was behind in my life compared to other peers or friends. Watching social media and their often distorted reality made me depressed and worsened my compulsive cravings.

I find it helpful when I lead an inner monologue with myself and ask myself questions like : Am I really hungry? Do I need to have this biscuit now? Am I not going to make it through today if I don't eat this whole bag of chips? What is the real reason I have the urge to eat a whole jar of Nutella at a sitting? Am I sad or lonely or frustrated? What else besides food would make me feel better in this moment? Is it worth it for me to overeat to make me feel miserable afterwards? What emotions am I pushing to the back burner by satisfying myself with junk food right now?

Beyond that, I think it's important to find a way to distract compulsive food thoughts with something else.

For example, if they come out of boredom, find an activity to do, read a magazine, a book, watch a movie, go for a walk, make yourself a cup of tea or meet a friend for coffee, take a relaxing bath, go to the gym or try some work out at home, or whatever you find as a nice distraction to help you forget about food at least temporarily.

But don't punish yourself for eating whole chocolate bar or big menu at Mcdonnalds, you don't need to be strong all the time...Everyone once in a while can't resist and succumbs to temptation...The important thing is to break the vicious circle so that overeating doesn't become a daily routine and burden that destroys your physical or mental health.

When it comes to managing trigger foods, one strategy that has proven to be helpful is buying them in limited quantities and only occasionally. This approach allows for indulgence without going overboard. Additionally, avoiding the aisles in the store where these tempting foods are displayed can be beneficial, especially when it comes to items like chips or chocolate.. As a lover of sweets myself, I have found out indulging in a piece of dark chocolate after a meal significantly reduces my compulsive desire for more sugary treats. Surprisingly, the effect is not the same when I opt for milk chocolate, cookies, or other sweets with a higher sugar content. I don't consider myself fan of dark chocolate, but it is scientifically proven that the rich content of cocoa in dark chocolate triggers the release of serotonin, a neurotransmitter that promotes feelings of satiety and happiness. This helps to reduce the urge to consume additional sugary treats, and it works for me in some way.

Also, these book titles shown below helped me better understand the subject of sugar and junk food effects on the body, as well as psychological triggers that are related to specific foods. For some of you, these books may be useful and an asset on the road to recovery.

And please, don't be afraid to confide your eating issues to a person you trust, whether from family or friends. Talking to a family member or friend about your problems can be beneficial for several reasons. Firstly, they are likely to have a deep understanding of your personal circumstances and history, which can enable them to offer empathetic and compassionate support. Moreover, confiding in a loved one can strengthen the bond between you, fostering a sense of trust and openness. However, in some cases, it might be more appropriate to seek professional help when dealing with eating problems. Professionals such as therapists, psychologists, or nutritionists have specific expertise in this area and can provide specialized guidance tailored to your individual needs. They can help you understand the root causes of your eating issues, develop coping strategies, and create a personalized treatment plan. There is no shame in getting help, when you feel that the problem is out of control and you feel powerless.

And as I said before, my struggles with overeating began more than ten years ago, and despite my best efforts, I am still in the midst of this ongoing fight. However, I believe, that with continued self-reflection, support, and a steadfast commitment to change, one day I can ultimately emerge as a victor in this battle.

Bad habits
3

About the Creator

IvanaCh

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Jay Kantor10 months ago

    Dear Ivana - Yum ~ My biggest problem is if cookies are put in front of me I can only eat (1)..You really deliver the hi-caloric goods - a fabulous StoryTeller - Once again, It is amazing how from across the globe we can relate to one another's metaphorical colloquial expressions - Please see my 'Cultural Exchange' in 'History' you will relate. A Favor? Please view Mariann Carroll's interview with Doc Sherwood from England - He's my BFF - and leave a comment. It will get your name out more within the Village. It's important that the community recognizes your marvelous work and this is the way to do it - also on the Leaderboard.   I care ! Jay

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.