Confessions logo

My Baby

the Parakeet!

By Nacole TottenPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Photo Credit: Jennifer Blazis Photography

We should indeed watch what we say around children. Their minds are like sponges immersed in every syllable. In honesty, I forget this often and just speak my truth. Usually, my little girl is busy playing, so I don't think she can hear me at all. Oh, but she's listening to me.

There's only one time I can think of that was worse than her applauding me for going poopy in the potty in the Walmart bathroom, or telling the man working the drive-thru at Burger King, "My mommy is trying to find her a huban."

But, this Sunday in particular, I sat with a load of laundry and put on the show Atlanta's Housewives to pass the time. During the show, a woman with a rather large backside passed he screen. Now, culturally it's a great thing, and the fact that I don't have a large rump brings tears to my brown eyes.

I dropped the shirt I was folding in trance. I whispered, "Man, I wish I had a booty like that." That's it. That's all I said. I got out of my hypnotic state and went on with my business. I didn't know my little girl was leaning on the recording button of her brain. She didn't reply. She didn't ask any questions. She didn't look at me, so the honest moment I had with myself about my lack of assets was over, or I thought. I finished my work and decided to go for dinner.

I wasn't going to cook. I had a backache, and I felt tired. I choose to go for pizza. I put my bra on, took my keys, and she and I walked out the door. During the drive, I watched her sing and move to Beyoncé. She danced with all her heart, all her soul, and all her face.

We arrived, and I got my four-year-old out of the car. I had on fuzzy pajama pants and house shoes. I stopped dressing up. It took a lot of effort. We went into what she calls a pizzeria, and what the normal Americans call Little Caesars.

Photo Credit: Nacole Totten

In front of us is a corpulent woman about my age and near my size. She doesn't know that an observant, unfiltered child is behind her. Poor lady, her pants are a little tight, and I wonder why she doesn't just choose pajamas too. They are super comfy.

Anyway I digress, my precious baby looked at me with her benevolent eyes and curly hair. She pointed and asked me, "Mommy, you want a booty like that, don't you?"

When I say I shattered! I was just mortified. Her comment rang all over the store. The heat of embarrassment swept through me like MRI contrast. I felt hot and I felt like I could pee myself. My eyes were about an inch out of the socket.

I grabbed her by the hand and stepped back. I turned to escape the looks of three employees and a handsome construction worker. Their eyes were all fixed on me, but they kept their composure. I could only imagine the tonal laughter that happened once I was no longer within earshot.

I brought her back to the car, strapped her up, and her little face was lost in confusion. I kissed her instead of scolding her, and I laughed instead of crying. “What are you, a damn Parakeet? I asked under my breath when I closed the door and walked around the car. I got in the car and my face hit the wheel. I laughed, and she giggled.

“Why are you laughing, mommy?” She asked.

I started the car and got away from the crime scene, “Nothing, we are getting McDonald’s!”

Embarrassment
Like

About the Creator

Nacole Totten

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.