Confessions logo

Memories of Marian Anderson

Dr. Matthew Primous, Professor

By Matthew PrimousPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

The first memory I would like to talk about is of Marian Anderson. My first-grade teacher wanted to encourage me to do well in school along with the other students. And so she promised me that Marian Anderson would teach me to sing at age 6, if I scored the highest grades. I scored straight A's in elementary, and all I remember is having to dress up in a child's tuxedo to meet Marian Anderson. She came to meet me before we went on camera, she wore one of her famous dresses. She called me by my full name and took my hand from the teacher. She introduced me as her prize student and she talks to the news. In awe of her beauty and talent, I was impressed with seeing her. I remember her coming down to my level and closing her eyes. I touched her cheeks on her face. She acted as if I was wrong then she laughed. And as we performed together she told me to sing every note that she sings. And I didn't think I could do it but I did. She said now you know everything I know. The news questioned and debated about whether I was her child that they called me Marian's Boy, she said she hoped that I become like Michael Jackson, Whitney Houston, or Aretha Franklin. Then she grabs me in her arms and ran to the closest classroom. She explained that she was not my mother, however, she could be related because we look alike and she asked the teacher to make sure I was raised as she was raise me. Before that, she asked me if she should sing one more time in Washington D.C. and I told her she should. She asked me to watch and I said I would. I remember getting home from school and my mother watching it on the news. I tried to run but she caught me and told me that she saw everything. She did not punish me but she told my father and grandparents. I remember my father talking with his parents about my meeting with Marian Anderson. I was the only one in my grandparents' house with my father and we were watching the concert. I remember staying up for most of the concert, where they said that she made a million dollars performing. My grandparents were shocked and said that she should do something special for me because I told her to do the concert. Then after some time, I was asked by my oldest sister to perform a church song with my other sisters. I was nervous and scared because it was my first time performing as the lead. I remember going there that Sunday morning and I saw this older woman that looks like Marian Anderson. She watched me closely and carefully as she was in the front of the church's audience. So I sang the song without any problem and I received full house applause. Marian Anderson asked the pastor to meet me after church because she wanted to say her final goodbyes. She came through the door and hug me tight. And she said you are my prize. I wanted to have a child-like you but I couldn't but God gave me a second chance through you. I wanted you to sing like me everywhere. I know you are gonna be great just keep singing. I told her that I miss her and I watched all the concert. She said you liked when I sing America the Beautiful. The pastor asked if she could tell me the singers she would have been like. She replied Shirley Caesar and Aretha Franklin if she was alive today. And she told me that she didn't have long but that she wanted me to laugh. And I remember when I became older looking up Marian Anderson's pictures reminding me of the last time I saw her with white hair down her back and making a funny face that had me rolling laughing.

Childhood
Like

About the Creator

Matthew Primous

I am a Black Scholar, International Scholar, & Google Scholar, & 3-Time Eber & Wein Best Poet., Nominee for Poet of the Year, 2020 Black Author Matters Winner, 2 time Akademia Excellence Essayists,& 2022 Honorary Muckrack Journalist.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.