Confessions logo

Letter to Mrs. King

Modern Satire

By Matthew PrimousPublished 29 days ago 4 min read
Like
Letter to Mrs. King
Photo by Ben White on Unsplash

I remember Dr.King. Dr. King was my hero. I always loved history. He loved his family. And he had many friends. I want to be like him. He was a doctor for justice. He loved everybody. Mom and Dad taught me about many people from history. They were my first teachers. And my siblings helped too. I was glad starting school way back. And I loved going to the library. The library was my sanctuary. I would look at the pictures and try to figure out what they were doing and why. And occasionally I would look at Where is Waldo. But I was intrigue with the Civil Rights, seeing thee Dr. King and with his wife and children. And seeing him be tough and march for justice. In class we sung Dr. Martin Luther King was a great great great man. And he died for me and you all over this land. I love that song because I want to be just as great as Dr. King. I'm gonna be smart. I'm gonna wise. I'm gonna be special. That's what Mom and Dad said. Even my teachers said I love art class and music class. In art class I could do whatever I want. My teacher called me Little Davinci. Yup that's my name Davinci after the famous Renaissance Artist Davinci. I could paint, weave, draw and design. I was one of the best in my class. I did so well that I could do independent projects in elementary. So I study history, at age 6 I could draw all the famous people from history and Dad was an artist too. I would look them in the book from the library and just draw. One day I asked my teacher if I could draw Dr. King. And she said do you think you are that good. Do you believe in yourself. I said Mrs. Florence I believe I believe in myself. And so I tried and tried at home and at school. I did my chores and got back at drawing. I look at many pictures of Dr. King and really really really tried hard. And when I finally got it I showed Dad and he said I don't know. It's good but I don't know. I said I tried my best. And Dad said show grandpa. Grandpa said I don't know but it looks good. And so I told them that I would take it to my art teacher Mrs. Florence. At night I could bearly sleep because I was so happy. I was excited. I drew my hero Dr. King and it is to the best of my ability. Mom came into the room and sat on the bed and said I saw your drawing and you are really good. I can draw too. I will show you later how to doodle. And I said what is doodle. She said draw really really really really fast. And she said get some sleep. I finally went to sleep and I had a dream that my teacher liked it and the whole school liked it and they were gonna do something special. I was almost late for school the next day. Mom called for me three times. I was just sleepy waking up. I pick out my shirt and pants for school and washed up and showed Mom. Mom said I look cute and hug me and kiss me. And I left with Dad to school. Dad asked if I could show my drawing quickly to Mrs. Florence and I did. Mrs. Florence was shocked and said I was her best student. And she said it's a really great drawing. And she suggested I send it to Mrs. King. And Dad told me Mrs. King is Dr. Martin Luther King's wife. And I said I don't know how to write well. And Mrs. Florence said it is just like writing to your parents. And Dad told me to do it today and he would mail it. So at recess I wrote the draft then I finalized it. I wanted Mrs. King to think of me as smart and a good little boy who love Dr. King. So I wrote a really really long letter and sought my drawing of Dr. King. And waited for her reply. It was weeks and Mrs. Florence kept checking with me at art class. I was discouraged after sometime but then a package came from the King Center with a whole bunch of stuff from the King Center. And Mrs. King wrote in a letter for me to call the King Center to make sure I got the package. I showed my parents and grandparents and Grandpa said I could call over his house. So I dialed once then I dialed twice. And Mrs. King's secretary answered and I said who I am. And she congratulated me and asked if I really wrote that and drew that. She said it was very good and impressive. And she asked to speak to my parents. And Grandpa answered the phone and introduce himself. And that's my story of writing to a great, showing my artistry to a hero and being inspired at age ten to be like Dr. King

Childhood
Like

About the Creator

Matthew Primous

I am a Black Scholar, International Scholar, & Google Scholar, & 3-Time Eber & Wein Best Poet., Nominee for Poet of the Year, 2020 Black Author Matters Winner, 2 time Akademia Excellence Essayists,& 2022 Honorary Muckrack Journalist.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.