Confessions logo

Heaven is Real

Modern Satire

By Matthew PrimousPublished about a month ago 4 min read
2
Heaven is Real
Photo by Davide Cantelli on Unsplash

I am Earl Chapman and I experienced heaven. I never was born with a disease. I never grew up with a disease. All my life I have been healthy and stable. I mean I had a cold now and then but I was never so sick that I thought I could not get well. And I always wondered about heaven ever since I was a little boy. I imagined it and get excited about it in church as the pastor preached about it and as I read Revelation. I know I am a long way's off and a long way sojournering. I know my grandparents got there when I was young even at their funeral. I know my father got there a few years ago. And just recently my mother got there. As everyone else I tried to be a good Christian. I tried to love everybody and treat everybody right. I tried to help the poor and suffer not the little children. I tried to help whenever I can and however I can. I truly love my neighbor. Probably because I wish that I had brothers and sisters but I am grateful Mom and Dad showed me enough love to provide and protect me. What a gift of God!. I was just doing the normal things and living right. There was no care. There was no worry. Every morning trying to do something good and trying to make it to the pearly gates. And I was never late to my job not ever. I was a role model employee. I worked hard for what I got because I was grateful for life. I was grateful living. Then I got in this horrible accident while walking and hiking and smelling the fresh air of winter. I was ran over but I lived. I was hospitalized for many months as my cousins and aunts and uncles tried to give me hope. Then it happened I dream of heaven. I had an out of body experience where I was being carried by angels. The angels were fun, adorable and loving. They gently whisper to me and calm my fears. They said Earl you worked hard enough. You loved hard enough. Now it's time to see him. But I explained that I still could do more. I cried that I could still do more. I don't wanna die yet. And the angels said But he's waiting for you waiting to see you and waiting to talk to you. And I said But I am not ready I haven't prepared I haven't got ready I don't know if I am right enough. And they said The Master knows. And after we were finished having a conversation. I saw the pearly gates shining and bright and oh oh how glorious the land and the rivers flowing with milk and honey, the pure waters and there was a man-like angel. And he wore a crown I believe it was Jesus. And he hugged me so tight and kiss my cheek and said well done. But I cried to him and said but I am not finish. And he said I am not finish with you either. But you earned it earned the right to be my heir you earned the right to see heaven and one day you will enter one day you will see. And he brought my mother and father and they look young about 30 or 40 years old. I cried Mom is that you. Dad is that you. And they cried and hug me and said Heaven is a wonderful place. We love you. We miss you. And other family down the years gathering and I could not count all the hugs and lovely words that they said. As I dreamed of Heaven, I was in a slight coma on earth as I woke the doctors and my cousins and aunts and uncles cried as I spoke. And I said I saw heaven and tried to explain to them the wonderful things. They laughed and were interested. I said The Master said I would get better and finish the things I wanted to get done. He just wanted me to see that Heaven is real. Then as I did more and more good works. I saw this poor man and took him out for a meal. And we talked over and over again. And he shook my hand and something change my heart and my mind. I tried to follow him but he disappear. And I knew that it was an angel. And Heaven is real was real real to me and in my heart and it will be forever real Heaven will be with me wherever I go.

Stream of Consciousness
2

About the Creator

Matthew Primous

I am a Black Scholar, International Scholar, & Google Scholar, & 3-Time Eber & Wein Best Poet., Nominee for Poet of the Year, 2020 Black Author Matters Winner, 2 time Akademia Excellence Essayists,& 2022 Honorary Muckrack Journalist.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.