Confessions logo

Daddy King

Historical Satire about The King Family

By Matthew PrimousPublished about a year ago 4 min read
Like
Daddy King
Photo by Laura Fuhrman on Unsplash

Mr. Williams, Pastor Williams I am interested in your daughter Alberta. No that would not work. How am I going to tell my mentor that I want to be with his daughter. God help me. You promised to help with this journey. As Daddy King recalls the story about meeting his wife, I remember being so nervous about her. She was from well upcoming family and I was not. She was her Daddy's favorite and I didn't have that type of relationship with my father. It was frightened being in loved with a man's daughter when that man gave you so much. He gave me my first job. He gave me shelter. He gave me everything I needed. How could I take from the hand that feed me? How could I be so afraid of a loving man with an amazing family? But I knew what I felt. God put her in my heart. God made me for her. God made her for me. We were meant to be together. We were destined to build a beautiful family. Something about her that makes me happy. Something about her that makes me feel alright. I know that she will make a fine wife and bring wonderful children to me. I was trying so many times. I was trying so many ways but her blessed mother, an angel to me, she saw one day after service the way I looked at her. She told the Pastor, Pastor Wiliams. And she was the first to welcome to being a potential mate for her daughter. She suggested we take it slowly and go on dates. Pastor Williams reminded me to show a godly man who loves the Lord that he treats a woman with respect. He reminded me to refuse temptations. He reminded me to see if its love. So we dated, I was nervous then at the coffee shop that was her favorite place to meet. I didn't want anything to mess up. I didn't want the food to be cold. I didn't want the date to mess up. I was getting a little tired and upset with the wait but she, Alberta showed me affection. She took her hand upon my hand and said it would be alright. I relieved and smile gently at her. And then the date begin with a meal. Then after going to the movies, it was cold that night and I was her protector, a strong handsome gentleman. I had my long coat on and a hat and she held on to my arm for safety and warmth. And I remember walking her to her parents' door asking kindly if she would marry me. She was shocked and told me to wait just one moment. And she turned on every light and woke her parents up and said I am getting married she later told me. Then she welcomed me for some coffee and cake. Mrs. Williams came running with a house coat. Just when I was about finished eating and drinking coffee and celebrating with Mrs. Williams and my wife to be Alberta. Pastor Williams came in loud and happy and hugging. Later after all the excitement and conversations, Pastor Williams ask me what job am I doing to pay for the new family. I told him I would keep ministering and looking for night jobs. And Pastor Williams loudly exclaimed, Son you are really a son because I am getting old. I am going leave to Heaven one day. It would be my honor for you to be the Pastor of Ebenezer Baptist Church. I was shocked and grab his hand and shook his hand and said Thank you Pastor, Amen Pastor my honor and pleasure. So we married at the church within the following months, I was able to start my family not too far from the church. We knew were gonna have a boy first but we did not anticipate him coming in January. We had a crib and the room painted blue. And yes Pastor Williams passed but he did not leave his family alone, his wife live to help us and the congregation welcome me as their new Pastor. A role I had led for the rest of my life even with a son as an Associate Pastor.

Secrets
Like

About the Creator

Matthew Primous

I am a Black Scholar, International Scholar, & Google Scholar, & 3-Time Eber & Wein Best Poet., Nominee for Poet of the Year, 2020 Black Author Matters Winner, 2 time Akademia Excellence Essayists,& 2022 Honorary Muckrack Journalist.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.