Confessions logo

Memoirs of a Confused Lesbian

Part 1

By Eliza MartinPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Memoirs of a Confused Lesbian
Photo by Sharon McCutcheon on Unsplash

Dear Readers, I have decided to write a memoir about my experience as a confused lesbian. Throughout my journey of discovering my sexuality, I also discovered many other illuminating facts about myself. This memoir has been a journey within itself, as well as a process in cathartic healing. My aim is to provide humor and relevance. This is a raw rough draft and you all are my Beta readers. I would appreciate any feedback. I anticipate releasing a few paragraphs at a time - like a serial magazine/newspaper story.

What is a confused lesbian? Difficult to say, except that I know that I am one. How do I know? Well, I’m attracted to women and I’m generally confused as to why more of them aren’t attracted to me. I guess I should start my story at the beginning.

When I was in first grade, I went to a public magnet school. My school had once been a high school and there was a gravel track that ran around the playground. Before we could play, we always had to walk or run 2 laps. One day, my teacher walked with us. Somehow, we got onto the topic of birth and motherhood. I was a very curious child and I had a lot of questions. I remember saying something to the effect of “I wonder if a baby could have two mommies.” I don’t remember what my teacher said, but I’m sure it was something fairly non-committal. Trust me, I know. I taught for 8 years and kids really do say the strangest things.

In second grade, I used to chase boys around the playground and tried to kiss them. I never did. Also in second grade was the first time I distinctly remember hearing the word “sex” for the first time. For a project, we had to pick out a picture cut out of a magazine. I chose a picture of a bear. I decided to write a love story about the bear and his wife. I remember asking my assistant teacher if I could use the word “s-e-x” in my story and she said no.

In third grade, I transferred to a local Catholic school because my mom wanted to make sure that I received a more rigorous education. My third grade teacher was pregnant. I distinctly remember one time when she was leaning over my desk and I caught a glimpse of her cleavage. It didn’t arouse me, but rather I was just very curious. As a nine year old, I still had a child’s body, so I always looked at the older girls or women at my school to see what my body might look like in a few years. At the end of the school year, there was an awards ceremony. My school went up to the eighth grade. A middle school girl received an award. I can vividly remember her walking up to the stage to get her award - she had already physically matured and her breasts bounced up and down as she walked. I was transfixed. That was the first time I was attracted to a female body. I immediately dismissed it because it wasn’t “normal.” I never told anyone - and you, readers, are the first to hear of it.

Readers, you may be thinking, “wow, she was very sexual at a young age.” And I guess you would be right. I didn’t realize how sexual I was until I started my outline for this memoir. Why am I like this? Is it because I’m gay? Do other people in the queer community experience early sexualization? Is it because I’m a Scorpio? Because, according to my zodiac, Scorpios are the most passionate and most sexual. But I’ve never been able to figure out if I really believe in astrology or not. I think sometimes I believe in it but at other times, I dismiss it. I guess it’s just like conservative white men - sometimes they believe in science and sometimes they don’t - they believe in it when it suits them. Except science is always real. It’s always fact. Whereas astrology….I haven’t figured that out yet.

I’ve always suppressed my over-sexuality because I was embarrassed by the deep feelings that I had and that they weren’t “normal” for my age. If you ask anyone who knew me in high school, they would tell you that I was a prude. And they would be right. Except I was a prude because I was ashamed of my sexual curiosity. I didn’t think a whole lot about sex necessarily, but I wanted to know what it was like to kiss someone. I was a late bloomer - I didn’t have my first kiss until I was 19.

To be Continued...

Humanity

About the Creator

Eliza Martin

Eliza (Hufflepuff), Star Wars fan and Tudor England nerd, lives in Columbus, Ohio. She is a former Montessori teacher, with a love for arts and the theatre. She is an out and proud lesbian who loves cuddling with her doggo and kitties.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Eliza MartinWritten by Eliza Martin

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.