Confessions logo

Me, mom and I

-my journey, my lessons for life

By Chacha JaramilloPublished 2 years ago Updated about a year ago 2 min read
1

Dear Mom, life can be hard, growing in a family where being shy and quiet was common, in a family of 5 (3 brothers, I’m the youngest) and old fashion parents.

I was literally, the last hope for you, and the last one to see you before passing. At least when you left this world. You were happy because 2 of us turned you into a proud happy grandma.

I’m remembering the times growing up that I was rebellious - my way, but still in the respectful terms towards you.

Responsibility- as far as I did my homework and helped with house chores, we were okay. We study, did our homework, we even cooked together. I learned from you with looking and cooking together. Funny times again, some cooking tips were just trial and error, but still learned.

Now I’m a great cook.

That helped me to get the love of my life share the rest of my life with a man that pretty much was as same as Dad, my love, my confident, my friend. 🌻

Years before you passing, were the best. We got to catch up on a lot of things, shared lots of sad and happy times, got to enjoy our son growing older. That gave our son a better understanding and caring for our elders when we can’t.

Mom, you really enjoyed our son’s company. Until the day you passed didn’t stop being happy. You even turned sad when we left but later understood we had to go home. Mom understood our son had to go to school and we had to go to work.

Growing up, mom l, you were not much of a verbal talkative person, but taught us something not easy to explain: respect and responsibility. The rest came as we grew older.

I always made fun and complained about your phrase:

‘You will know when your time comes’

I really hated it…..

Did not make sense to me- at that time

Now I’m starting to understand that meaning now.

Mom, you taught us to be confident on whatever we do. Be respectful. Be responsible. Follow our thoughts.

There wasn’t any written book or encyclopedia to memorize. Mom, you taught us to be confident.

Our son got advice from Mom during his visits, where Mom talker to him. I can see now that Mom transferred to him what she couldn’t to us.

And I’m thankful and greatfull for that.

You will always be in my heart and in my thoughts. I will always love you.

Thanks for being my friend, my confident, my silent advisor.

Much love. Sincerely,

Chacha❤️

Family
1

About the Creator

Chacha Jaramillo

Nature, music and great food lover. Dreaming of having a blog to help people overcome life’s challenges. Born Latin-Chinese, my stories relate how resilience helps you overcome life’s obstacles.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Babs Iversonabout a year ago

    Lovely tribute to your mom!!! Loved it!!!💖💖💕

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.