Confessions logo

April’s Fool on March

An early prank

By Chacha JaramilloPublished 2 years ago Updated about a year ago 3 min read
1
April’s Fool on March
Photo by Waldemar Brandt on Unsplash

It was forecasted; the temperatures were to unexpectedly rise as climate change was driving meteorologists crazy, Spring was to be early. Not even Willy the groundhog was prepared for this.

Mother Nature played us on April’s Fool, but on March.

After long savings earned our first son being born, it was time for me to comeback to work. I missed work. I was lucky, mom was around to help me take care of our little one while I was at work.

Already familiarized with the truck, it made sense for me to drive the truck, since my commuting was 1 hour one way, compared to my husband’s only 30 minutes.

The first day; into the first month of winter, I decided to drive the truck. No problem I thought. I decided to drive it with the 4x4 on - just in case.

I watched the weather forecast as usual, gave our little one a kiss, waved and said goodbye. I decided to take an alternate route to avoid the highway and get more used to driving the truck.

The last stretch of the way to work had to drive through a road that overpassed the highway; and on the way down was a gas station and a bus shelter. That road connected to another road that connected to the main highway, the QEW East.

Although the temperature went up enough to melt the snow already fallen to cover the snow, the asphalt could’ve already absorbed the melted snow.

So there was me and another car; a red Acura, in front of me. As we reached the top of the hill, the car started to slow down.

I checked the mirrors in advance to complete my next move, change to the right lane and overpass the slow car.

This was a common route for buses. No bus around. Only the two of us.

I checked and used my blinkers to change lanes, I made sure I was on 60 as per driving speed limits stated by the city.

Once enough space allowed to back to my lane again, I signalled back again to get back in my lane.

At that moment; I feel the tail of the truck pull me to the side. The truck continued skidding off to the side, I tried to get the truck back on its way. My instincts told me - don’t swerve. Let it go. At the same time I saw myself going in direct hit to a light pole. I just brace for the hit. I felt the tail hit one of the street light pole. I saw another street light pole just passing by.

I just closed my eyes, holding my grip on the steering wheel.

The truck came to a full stop.

I opened my eyes. I was expecting to see either blood everywhere or hit my head against the windshield.

Instead I realized I was underneath a scaffold.

There was a town house building being built. Next to it, a gas station and a bus stop shelter. No one was inside.

During my flying off the road towards the construction side, I saw a red Acura, that stopped in front of where the truck came to stall. I came out of the truck. The driver saw me walking ok.

He left.

He was not involved in the accident.

I called my husband to let him know.

I called my workplace to let them know I had an accident.

My boss thought it was an early April’s Fool prank. Himself drove to the accident site, only 6 blocks away.

I almost lost my drivers license.

I was going to be charged with irresponsible driving, a hefty fine and demerit points. Even though I explained to the police officer that prepared the accident report, said I was going to be charged with neglected driving. He came out of the cruiser to inspect the area where I told him I lost control of the truck; to inspect the area.

Right where I indicated the police officer the truck started to skid off, he slipped off and almost got hit by a bus passing by.

When he came back to his cruiser; I asked him;

-you see I wasn’t lying?

The police officer just moved his head.

He also stepped on black ice

The culprit.

The one to blame.

At the end, I was given a traffic ticket,

A ‘I can’t believe it!’ look

And a big discussion with my husband when I got back home.

Yep - my April’s Fool joke….prank…..

Embarrassment
1

About the Creator

Chacha Jaramillo

Nature, music and great food lover. Dreaming of having a blog to help people overcome life’s challenges. Born Latin-Chinese, my stories relate how resilience helps you overcome life’s obstacles.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.