Confessions logo

Third Child of Icarus

flying too close to her

By S.K. WilsonPublished 15 days ago 3 min read
2
the true danger of flying towards someone ... is the fall

Have you ever met someone that you fell instantly for on a deep soulful level? It might be love, it might be friendship, but from the moment you met that person … it’s like you were under a spell.

I met such a person, a girl with sea-storm eyes; by which I mean her eyes captured me like a stormy sea mesmerising sailors, finding one self unable to look away until it is too late, and you are dashed on the rocks … or heartbreak. From that first chance encounter, those eyes have not left my mind for more than a minute. When I sleep, I dream of those eyes. When I wake, I wonder about those eyes and what the day will bring to them. When I cook, I wish those eyes were on me, waiting eagerly for the feast I prepare for them to devour.

Those eyes …

I don’t even know if I’m in love, but I want … I need to see those eyes again. Hear her lyrical voice that smiles like rays of spring sunshine in the winter of my life; giving me a hope I thought gone for good. However, deep down, I am a coward and too weak to risk the fall again. This feeling is not new, it has happened before, however those times seem now a mere pin-prick to the hand compared to the blade in my heart of this coming fall.

A fall like the first to fly too close to danger that fateful day above the Icarian Sea, named for the fallen. Since then, those of us that fly too close to our own doom become known as the Children of Icarus. I see the girl with the sea-storm eyes like the sun was to Daedalus and his son. Keeping the right distance for the right time and I will fly to salvation … stray too close too soon, and share in the fate of Icarus. Too far and be engulfed by the waves of my own pessimism, why would she want me? Have I been doomed to share in the fate of those fallen before me? All the way back to the first melted wing, flying too close to danger. Doomed to a fall that comes no matter what.

If I fly much closer to her sun I risk being burned and falling from such a height, that this time I fear I will not survive. Forever unable to pick up the broken wings of my heart again … however if I do not change my altitude in this venture, in order to protect my heart from melting and breaking. I also condemn myself to be away from her laugh, her smile, her eyes … then is it better to have not flown at all?

The strength to call out, to tell her is at this time, beyond me. Fear and self-doubt have taken up space over time, with each previous fall they have grown stronger and more confident. Removing the power of hope and the brave heart of youth, willing to risk all for the chance of love. All I know is that I cannot go on like this, forever wondering what may be or could be if I was just brave enough to fly close enough to reach out in that timeless hope of fools ...

Will I be like Icarus; crash and burn after flying too close to danger, too close to the very thing I hoped would save me from a lonely fate ….

Too close to the scorching sun of her sea-storm eyes.

DatingStream of ConsciousnessSecrets
2

About the Creator

S.K. Wilson

She/Her | Australian 🏳️‍⚧️ Author

My short form writing mostly falls into the absurd, strange and nonsensical. I enjoy writing micro-fiction collections, been dabbling in poetry.

Debut Arthurian fantasy novel out now! The Knights of Avalon

🩷

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.