Confessions logo

Lie To Me. Issue #2 As It Was

Issue #2

By Thudd WalkerPublished 3 months ago 6 min read
Like
In this life, you'll be both good and bad. What's important is which are more consistant.

Ok. I have only ever recounted this story one other time. Whenever asked about this Era of my life from my family and my friends I always keep the details to myself and just stick to the Who/What/When/Why & Where. With this in mind please understand that I will be changing names, dates, and for the sake of keeping this story to a readable length certain event(s) will be shortened or bulleted. I will do my best to answer any questions that may arise. Thank you for reading about the worst experience of my life.

Living in the time between Posey divorcing her husband and us trying to build a relationship was awkward, exciting, scary. All the red flags were there from the get go, and i was oblivious to them. They would fight over the phone all the time, i should have known this wasn't her first time messing around with another guy, her husband let it slip about an incident with her and an ex over skype (...geez... remember that?) anyway, I let it go thinking I would be different, I was in over my head. We had begun messing around at the coffee house, somewhat outwardly, and our coworkers were catching on. I was setting up my usual plan and at the point of looking for a new a job to begin this cycle again. In this new job I had much more freedom to maneuver around as it was a local business, I also was now away from the protection of the coffee house and it was only a matter of time before Posey's husband would find me.

We had only really interacted twice, if you could call this interacting, the first time was during a pretty busy day at my second job, we had many orders coming in and a large group comes up. There's a bunch of people pointing at our shop, I assume that they are thirsty, I didn't notice him at all [ I didn't know it was him and his family until later on when Posey told me] one of them walks up, while I am working, and tries to stair me down giving me looks and whatnot. It was amusing as the customers kept mocking him for staring at the employees. I think they couldn't figure out what to say because they swiftly left after that. The second time was when we had to get her car change from his name to hers. We were no more than a car seat away from each other, I could feel his stares. Just imagine the thoughts in that mans head at the moment, sitting in next to him is some punk ass kid who told a whole bunch of lies to his wife and now she's leaving him for a boy.

I'd be livid.

And I sat there in my smugness, waiting for them to finish so we can leave with a newer better car. I wouldn't have blamed him if he decided to just attack me right there and then. Posey and I had decided that not only did we want a new car, we were also going to get a new place to live because it wasn't cool living with a roommate when we wanted more privacy. All of this was happening right on top of her divorce so it came down to me to find a place to live, look for a new car, and get all the paper work in for us to move. It had already cost us all of my savings to get that done while Posey gave away all of her assets and whatever she saved up to her now ex-husband. The night after the courts finalized their divorce we were in our new home, living a life that we thought we wanted. I had fed her so many lies that they became difficult to keep maintaining, she was always asking questions. Posey always wanted to go out and be social and drink... A LOT! sometimes we would go out with the coffee house group, get a big table and all drink and have fun. Posey was often hyper sexual with the other girls on the team. It turned me on i didn't care. Then one night she was telling them stories about me and us, when one of our coworkers remembers a different version of the same story Posey was telling and that she heard from me, at the same time I was telling more lies to some of the guys, I don't remember what they were but I remember the intention was to feel like I wasn't insecure around these guys who are doing things with their lives.

Getting home that night Posey begins to ask me a lot about the stories I told her about my past. She had straight up asked me if I was lying to her, she was dead serious because recently we had a relationship moment. Posey opened up to me about some family trauma and had given me the honor to remove the final piece of her past she was holding on to. I could tell that it was important for her to do that with me, but I didn't care. I want to more sex. Of course I lied to her and said no, I was serious with her. Apart of me had known that she was on to me and I knew that I should have backed out then, but I kept going. In the background we were practically shoveling money by the buckets into a firepit with our immature spending. We were in a really bad spot. First, we were spending way more than we made, Second, Posey was thinking harder about who I was and was realizing who she thought I was is not that person. Third, Posey had begun to show signs of an immune system illness making it difficult for her to move regularly causing pain (In hindsight, Posey may have been playing up how bad she was feeling as she did many things that others with this sickness would claim to be too difficult) and bills had come due.

One night right before bed, Posey comes to me in a frenzy, Posey shows me her phone. She had been talking to my oldest sister about some of the stories I had told her and I was caught, my old roommates at the time also gotten back to her and had confirmed that I was lying to her the whole time. It was like my world had just shattered. I was caught! 100% in defense mode I had attempted to gaslight her and shift the subject to something else just long enough for me to find a foot hole to escape. Posey didn't take the bait; her world came crashing down alongside mine and we were just getting started.

[Do the hard things now, letting them pile up will result in a weight too heavy for one person to carry.]

To Be Continued...

- Thudd Walker.

SecretsWorkplaceTabooHumanityCONTENT WARNINGBad habits
Like

About the Creator

Thudd Walker

Facts about Thudd Walker:

1. Fought in 9 Kumites

2. Shaves without water.

3. Wears boots made of legos.

4. Cries in front of his buddies.

5. Writes short stories.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.