Confessions logo

Last Valentine

- The Nurse -

By Jay KantorPublished about a year ago Updated 9 months ago 3 min read
14
Artist Depiction © Terrilynn Cook

Author © Jay Kantor

Last Valentine - The Nurse -

NO New Memories – Some Special Ones

You can be a Homeowner dealing with faulty plumbing issues, escalating tax bills, or there's always something! So, what's better? You lease an apartment and once everything's signed you're at the mercy of the landlord; lucky to get simple maintenance. Or should we, now, buy a Condo-Townhouse-Loft or whatever they're referred to as these days. And, then try to deal with the HOA's everyday nonsense once the image of the 'Curb-Appeal' wears off? Nah, the days of owning a sovereign log-cabin are 'out the window' as the American Dream: Dad sold our house for not much profit; just felt he got his innings out of it. (Really!)

But, that said...!

The SOLUTION ~ Campo Road ~

Remembering: We were so fortunate to be able to buy a lovely Custom-Built Hillside Home/With View! Whew, love at 1st Site~Sight; such 'Curb-Appeal!' Also spent lots of $ for improvements; brick/tile, etc. You know, you're never done with a house! But, not to be corny, we were really into it and proud! It really WAS the American-Dream!

Just finishing up the 1st phase of redo's, and as we were walking out of the front doors one morning, all of a sudden Chickens-Roosters and Hens appeared (don't quite know the difference?) But, there they were in front of our faces, across the wire fence between our properties; smelling like a poultry farm. The neighbor decided to build a CHICKEN-Coop in his back yard that went way up the hillside and parallel to our front doors.

So, why would this be interesting? Well, within minutes the police arrived (neighbor squabbles bring them out fast) along with every neighbor within the police-wailing-sirens hearing range.

After all that: Rita Louise asked, "Why don't we invite them into the house and have them get a glimpse out of the front doors?" Sounds simple, but once they realized (it honestly didn't occur to them) what we were talking about, the very next day the Chicks Cackles Were Gone – Flew-the-Coop!

We had them in for Tea The Next Day – with a Bucket of KFC 🍗 – Good-For-U-Rita Louise !

Favorite Memory: The minute I'd walk into the door Rita would drop everything and run into my arms (always!) This was so-so special to me! Never to make this type of comparison to sound disrespectful, but not unlike walking into the door as the excited dog jumps all over you. Upon reflection my thoughts are not 'comparing' Rita Louise to a dog. But, her expression of unconditional love and joy to the way a dog responds was the most precious expression of love and I will forever cherish the memory.

Once I brought home a large silver-aluminum ladder that I got on sale at Home Depot. As I was pulling into the garage Rita came up to the driver side window and said, "What have you got sticking out there?" I told her that I needed the ladder to get up on the roof to do a few things. Well, the house was slanted high into a hillside off of the main road; even an experienced roofer might have had trouble balancing himself: And, of course, my Dad would NEVER let us climb on the roof so I really don't know what I was thinking. Simply Rita said, "although I'm a nurse, if you get up there and break your head-open when you fall off, I'm not going to be there for you – just call The-Guy!"

Well, I never even opened up that ladder. I left it in the corner of the garage and just glanced at it from time to time as I pulled in. When Rita was gone, I couldn't look at it anymore and gave it to a friend; let him break his head open! Nah!

Rita Louise was very subtle, usually a low key non alarmist. But she knew MY limitations and my, often-times, lack of judgment better than I knew myself as a well-known 'Klutz!'

~ Soul Mates ~

We all have favorite Valentine memories ~ What's yours?

Jay Kantor, Chatsworth, Cal

'Senior' Vocal Author

'For The Kids Someday'

Family
14

About the Creator

Jay Kantor

Retired: Write for "The Kids Someday"

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (12)

Sign in to comment
  • Shirley Belk7 months ago

    What a beautiful woman, your Rita Louise!

  • Rachel Deeming7 months ago

    Rita sounds like a common sense sort of girl. I like that and I love the memories you share here. It's plain in every word how you feel about her. I'm glad you didn't go on that roof and I love the way she got across to you that that was not a good idea!

  • IvanaCh10 months ago

    Very lovely and nostalgic :)

  • Novel Allen11 months ago

    Your stories read like continuing episodes of a series. Such nostalgic memories in each episode. Many stories within each story. Be well Jay Kantor. i have more of your stories to read. So unique they are.

  • Muntasir11 months ago

    Nice Story!

  • Awww, Rita is such a sweetheart!

  • Doc Sherwood12 months ago

    If I hadn't already known Rita Louise was a fellow Brit, her observations on the ladder would have given it away (we're a nation of dubious roof-racks)! Likewise, one of our favourite postcards is the cartoon of a man on a ladder pruning his tree, the ladder resting on the far end of the bough rather than the end near the trunk, his wife watching apprehensively. Caption: "And before you start - when I want your advice, I'll ask for it!" Al joking apart, Rita Louise sounds wonderful. You have memories to cherish there.

  • Phil Flanneryabout a year ago

    I like that last bit of nostalgia. My wife is a nurse also and I am a handy man, it's actually my job. If my lovely wife is cautioning me, then I know I'm pushing Murphy's law to it's limit, and I find another way. I almost never call The Guy. i am very stubborn.

  • Naomi Goldabout a year ago

    That’s so sweet. I remember running into my husband’s arms every day as he came home from work, not unlike a puppy. Unfortunately, that did not last long. But the memories did, and maybe I’ll feel that way about someone again. Roosters are the beautiful and loud male chickens. They quite literally strut their stuff.

  • Cathy Deslippeabout a year ago

    From the moment you spoke of fixing up the home, I thought of Spruce Street where I grew up, and how our house went from a cottage to a mansion in a young girl's eyes, My favourite Valentine was the year it was girls' night to ask someone to a dance, From that dance, it turned to a lifetime of romance, You have such a fantastic way with works, you write deep from the heart, Thank you

  • Denise E Lindquistabout a year ago

    Thank you for sharing good memories 😊💕

  • Janet Carpenterabout a year ago

    Wow! Beautiful memories...thanks for sharing! Lots of love there.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.