Confessions logo

“It Will Be Better When…”Is A Myth!

Nothing but a magical time, place or person.

By Linda MhlangaPublished about a year ago 3 min read
“It Will Be Better When…”Is A Myth!
Photo by Mick Haupt on Unsplash

The Myth of "it will be better when..."

Is something like Narnia, the promised land, heaven all mixed up ! It's a magical time, place or person that we create in our minds to escape the misery of our current situation.

How many times have you said these words or something close to it ?

It will get better when l start working...

It will get better when l move...

It will get better when l grow up...

It will get better when l get that special person.in my life..

It will be better tomorrow...

I could go on!

I couldn't wait until the end of the month of May. Life was going to be so much better once l got to the end of May. I scraped, l scrimped , l borrowed every day in May to do what needed to be done. This wasn't just about me. Oh, no, the May event was a life changing event for my entire household. In hindsight l see that l built it up that way . I falsely raised the hopes of not only myself but also those of my children and for that l deeply regret. I didn't have the wisdom to see the pitfall l was creating. My children and l were holding on to the hope that with each passing day of the month of May things would get better or closer to getting better. 31 May would not only bring a sense of accomplishment but also a big sigh of financial relief ! We would have crossed over perilous terrain and made it to the other side , l saw what seemed like victory of the battle but was oblivious to the still raging war!

Today as l write this article it’s the 8th of June, only 8 days into the month of Narnia-promised land-heaven June and bill fires are burning everywhere and bombs raining from the financial sky ! The battle was won in May for sure, however victory was very short-lived. Celebrations were but a millisecond before reality raised its ugly head again. I should be on top of the world though, shouldn't l ? We did it, right ? How l wish that l was writing a different article. How l wish the energy of my story was more positive... Beware the perils of overpositivity ! The lows are very low How is this happening, you might be wondering ? Why are you reading doom and gloom here when they should be thankful and grateful instead ??? Wasn't the May event the problem ? That's over now, right? So, where are the happy days ?

So many questions!

With no simple answers.

However if l had to pin it to one, it would seem a leadership problem. Like a poor leader, l failed to see beyond the battle. I failed to see beyond May 31!  I was only fixated on going through the fight at hand and failed to make a plan for after the fact. I failed to see that while trying to solve my May problem l was inadvertently creating a June problem ! How ? My May earnings were swallowed up by my borrowings in May leaving me with very little disposable income for June. My battle strategy was brilliant and we won the battle of May but we are now battle weary and have used up all our supplies...the war of June is already waging and it's savage. I can't call on my allies again... not after they fought side by side with us , made sacrifices for us to see us victorious in the battle of May.

Like good soldiers we shall continue to fight the war, one battle at a time because we believe in the cause. Even if we do it on our own. Your May, June and every other battle is nothing but a lesson.

If you enjoyed reading this article please consider subscribing, leaving a ❤️ Or donating. [email protected]

Bad habitsHumanityFamily

About the Creator

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Sagar Karnabout a year ago

    Well-presented arguments.

LMWritten by Linda Mhlanga

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.