Confessions logo

I Had The Best Birthday Ever

And It’s All Thanks To My Friends

By Terri AllenPublished about a year ago 4 min read
3

So having a birthday only four days before Christmas has always been a sore spot for me, yes I know there are bigger things to worry about in the world but never getting a day to be celebrated for ageing was upsetting. I was always told that you can’t do anything that close to Christmas, that no one could come because they were too sick, that it was too expensive. I was typically told that I could just choose one of the Christmas presents from under the tree and open it for my birthday instead.

I never realised until recently that it was my entire life that led to the moment where I finally decided that I wanted my birthday to be about me for a change. It wasn’t just when I was younger not being celebrated but my ex-boyfriend never let me celebrate my birthday either. That’s a full story for another day but to put the story into a shorter version of the truth I wasn’t allowed to spend my birthday doing anything other than sit with him, in his house and I had the delight of watching him play either Fifa or Call of Duty. Very fun…

But it was a conversation I had with my best friend, Hayley, where I realised that I was allowed to have my own day. I brought this conversation up with my therapist and I told her that I was planning on celebrating my birthday, it was actually her that made me realise the past relationship I had with my birthday. My ex actually had a bigger impact on it after all, it wasn’t just my birthday it was the whole month of December that I had a problem with.

But anyway… This year has been very different. I have been working on myself with my therapist for nearly a full year now (it’ll be a year in January) and I feel like the happiest I’ve ever felt. I have made a number of changes to my life but I think the biggest change was celebrating my birthday!

It was just a small celebration, nothing too crazy or expensive but it was exactly what I wanted to do. Hayley, Danielle and I started our day by going to mini golf to play two rounds. Danielle was unnecessarily good at mini golf so me and Hayley spent most of the time joking that we were never going to invite her to mini golf again. Without surprise Danielle won the first round with a score of 29, Hayley was second with 38 points and I was dead last with my tragic 48 points.

I scraped it back in the second course by just 2 points to come in first place. I scored 33, Danielle scored 35 and Hayley scored 42. Overall Danielle won at golf so I will never suggest mini golfing with her unless you want to be humbled by her skills, she said she gets it from her dad. I probably wouldn’t suggest inviting Hayley either because at a few separate occasions she hit the ball so hard it flew out the course and nearly smacked both me and Danielle.

I never said we were pros at mini golf but it was definitely a fun experience and a near death one at that.

After golf we went back to Hayleys where Danielle and Hayley brought me out a birthday cake that I wasn’t expecting at all but I was so happy with. They tried to sing happy birthday to me but they couldn’t stop laughing, so that didn’t happen. While we were getting ready we had a few drinks. We all looked amazing I must say but we made the choice to wear heels. Hayley also came in last place at dealing with that decision and long story short she ended the night walking the rain, covered streets of Glasgow central in her fishnet covered feet. I was the only one that wasn’t complaining about my shoes, boots I stole from Hayley if you were wondering.

We went to Thundercats for a cheese chicago style pizza with side plates of chips and tater tots and between the three of us we never managed to conquer it all. The hard shakes were amazing, never have I imagined mixing alcohol with milk but I would highly recommend it.

For our final stop we went to a place called Mikaku for a few more drinks with me biting a long awaited bullet and I ordered a White Russian. It was amazing, we had a total of three drinks each before we left.

We ended the night back at Hayleys where we introduced Danielle to the many pets that Hayley has and it was a fun night that ended before midnight but it was the best birthday I have ever had.

And it’s all thanks to my amazing friends!

Teenage yearsHumanityFriendshipFamilyChildhood
3

About the Creator

Terri Allen

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.