Confessions logo

I can’t believe I partook in this

A group of teenage boys taking justice in their own hands…and eggs too.

By Swami Prem AnandPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
I can’t believe I partook in this
Photo by Edouard Gilles on Unsplash

It started as an innocent, or so I thought 16th birthday party at my friends house. But before I knew it we were scheming together, about 8 of us, to wait until late in the night when his parents and most people were asleep, and go throw eggs at a girl from school’s house! This was something I never could have imagined doing, but there I found myself just a couple hours later, throwing an egg on her roof.

I don’t even know what the reason for doing it was, in fact I quite liked the girl and she was friendly with me. Probably sounds really bad seeming as I egged her house with 7 or so friends that night! So we set out so quietly once we thought my friends parents were asleep. And we made our way down the road, she didn’t live very far from my friends house, it was t a long walk. But instead of going to the front of her house, we came in through the back, via thick bush, swamp even and then over a golf course to the back of her house. I tell you what the journey was a lot of fun really.

There was one house close by with loud music and partying going on that probably helped to mask the sound of our footsteps. Once we made it through the thick bush, walking through a few spider webs and marching through swampy wet tall grass, we come onto the greenway of the golf course which it was then an easy couple of hundred meters walk to the back of her house. Some friends climbed over the fence and into the backyard just to make sure they get a good hit, I think one egg splattered on a window. We had brought a dozen eggs with us and each of us was handed an egg or two depending on how much everyone trusted their ability to throw and that their intentions were true and they would enjoy it too. I was quite hesitant but in it for one of those first experience feels.

So we counted down and then threw the eggs. Some friends had grabbed small rocks as well and they came raining down on the house quite loudly. Before anyone needing to say anything, friends were clambering over the fence, we were laughing because one friend accidentally took down the fence trying to jump over in such a hurry. But we ran as fast as we could back over the golf course and through the marsh and bush, looking back on the way to see that the house lights were on and her dad had got in his car and was driving around the neighborhood looking for the culprits!

We decided that we’d better get home ‘off the beaten track’ though so far we haven’t been much on ‘the beaten track’. We went through small quiet streets and keeping off the main road. And walking through more forest and peoples backyards. My friends who lived in the area would tell us that “this is a shortcut!” And off we went through peoples properties and through thick bushland, running into many more spider webs. We found ourselves at one house on the way back that was a kind of enemy of one friend with us. He took the opportunity to throw a rock which smashed a plant pot into pieces, then we had to run!

It wasn’t far from being back at my friends place now, we just had one more fence to climb and would enter his property via the property behind his, going through barbwire fences and thick bush and spider webs again. Once we got back, I don’t know what time it was, but there were no lights on so we guessed his parents hadn’t found out.

We went quietly into the granny flat where my lucky friend lived apart from his family. There we played video games and laughed about the outraged posts from the girl who’s house we egged on Facebook. I remember my friends got me to comment on her post and sympathize and ask questions about it. They knew she would never believe that I would partake in it, as I am a very good boy. They laughed at her continued outraged comments that she was making and threats to those people that did it!

Childhood
Like

About the Creator

Swami Prem Anand

hello,

I am a poet, meditator, artist and musican!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.