Confessions logo

I Am A Lazy Sod

My Modus Operandi Is Always "There Must Be A Better Way"

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 3 min read
8

Introduction

I am probably the laziest person that you know in all of the Vocal communities, I really get away with doing very little, or rather making little effort.

How Is My Laziness Manifested

I virtually never handwrite anything and am always looking for ways of automating things so that I don’t have to do anything. I am actually trying to have more time to do what I want rather than doing what I have to.

As the subtitle says, my modus operandi is “There Must Be A Better Way Than This”, I am always looking for ways to make mundane tasks faster, or rather make them disappear into oblivion.

At work, I keep automating what were manual tasks with basic software help and tasks that used to take hours now take minutes, this gives me time to plan the more difficult stuff without having to waste time on the more mundane tasks.

I remember years and years ago a lecturer on a UNIVAC course said that people like me seemed lazy to most people but we spent a lot of seemingly idle time working out how things could be done with a lot less effort.

I will not do something manually if I can get a computer to do it for me. I do remember when I used to write things down in journals and diaries, but if you hold something in a workbook or database then you can actually use a computer to analyse that.

I remember someone running a poll to find out where people in a group came from. There wasn’t much engagement but I said the information is all there in the Facebook download for admins. The admins in that group weren’t interested, but here is the information that you can get without putting in too much effort.

My Cheating Art

I used to spend a lot of time trying to find an image for my Vocal story but now I use Night Cafe to generate an image for my stories which normally takes a couple of minutes, again saving me time so that I can do the things that I want. Below is the article that refers to this but you may have already read it.

And More Laziness

I love to listen to music, watch great theatre and television and read. This means that everything is done for me and I can just take enjoyment from it. I suppose I have to turn the pages when I read and I have never really taken to audiobooks and podcasts, though I do listen to the radio.

You can see in every aspect of my life I look to get the most out of it for the least effort from me. Whether that is a good thing or bad thing I don’t know, but if I need to get somewhere quickly I usually take a bus or a taxi rather than walk.

Concluding Lazily

I must apologise if this piece seems slapdash and all over the place but I am just trying to demonstrate how I want to be as efficient as possible and in some people’s eyes that makes me an incredibly lazy person.

When I think about it, this really lazy, slothful person has done an eight-hour workday implementing a time-saving data process which I wasted my own time working out but going forward will save me (and others) a hell of a lot of time, and written around two thousand words for three Vocal stories.

People will still see me as lazy but that is just the way I am and Green Day's "Lazy Bones" is fairly appropriate for this piece of lazy writing

Bad habitsHumanitySecretsWorkplaceFriendship
8

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudey

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Rick Henry Christopher about a year ago

    I am very much the same way. I call it inventive, creative, and clever.

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    I'm too lazy to comment.

  • I'm lazy too and we are the best kinda people. We always try to find the fastest way to get something done!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.