Confessions logo

How Karaoke Boosted My Confidence

The Fun Art of Karaoke

By Chloe GilholyPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
How Karaoke Boosted My Confidence
Photo by Nikola Đuza on Unsplash

For many of us, karaoke is the closest any of us will get to a pop star life. I’ve learned that karaoke is a fun way to boost my confidence. Before I always used to associate karaoke as an activity you do when you’re drunk with a half-eaten bag of chips and empty bottles and glasses. Doing it sober is a different experiance than doing karaoke when drunk. I thought karaoke was embarrassing as I suck at singing. Being drunk and karaoke always seems to be a fun combination, but I had never done it sober before until recently.

It’s always been a great experiance going to a karaoke bar and having a private booth. It’s like having your own little disco between a small party of friends. It’s a brilliant atmosphere. I am also fortunate enough to go to a karaoke bar in Tokyo. I can’t remember the name of it, but I went to a nice one in Sheffield as well. I believe it was somewhere near Chinatown.

It sounds outragous and ridiculous, I know. But I have found that doing karaoke with friends has been a great way to boost my confidence. What I like about it is that there is no pressure to sing good or to hit the right notes. If you have a flat note it dosen’t matter, unless your best friend is Simon Cowell. You can sing any song you like weather it’s a popular song or one of your all time favs.

We live in a world where we are always under pressure to provide for ourselves and be productive. Karaoke Is one of those acti where you can forget the troubles of the world and yourself go. Cause it’s the voice and the effort that counts. I’ve never had a bad experiance with karaoke. Even when I was drunk and oculdn’t remember certain things, I always remembered having a blast at the karaoke.

When I’m singing karaoke, I feel more confident because singing is a fun activity. The best thing is that you don’t have to go to a bar to do it. You can also do it at home or at somebody else’s house. It’s a really flexible and versatile activity.

In karaoke it dosen’t matter if you are a good singer or not. The way you look is irrelevant and there are almost no rules to it, so you can pretty much singer whatever you want. It wouldn’t be karaoke if it wasn’t. Doing it sober for the first time was a strange experiance at first, because I was so used to doing it under the influence of alcohol.

My friend was also recording me when it happened. At first I was like oh my god everybody is watching. Maddy you cheeky sod, recording without telling me. LOL, but it’s all good and fun. She is also a pretty good singer and to our surprise we can harmonize quite well together. There’s loads of karaoke videos available on Youtube. I have come to learn that me and my friend Maddy have similar taste in music when it comes to retro tunes from the 90s. I’ve not heard Patan or Beth sing at the karaoke yet, but it’s something I would like to see at some point.

My final verdict of doing karaoke when sober is that it is liberating. I learned that I don’t need booze to boost my confidence and that things can be just as fun without booze, but it’s always a nice treat once in a while, as long as you don’t get so drunk you can barely walk. My friends so say I am a handful when I’m drunk, which is one of the reasons why I’m only drunk twice a year.

Bad habits
Like

About the Creator

Chloe Gilholy

Former healthcare worker and lab worker from Oxfordshire. Author of ten books including Drinking Poetry and Game of Mass Destruction. Travelled to over 20 countries.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.