Confessions logo

How I pulled myself out of a self-destruction, doom, and gloom rut, and you can too

When a friend has your best interest at heart, and gives advice, I listen

By sara burdickPublished 10 months ago 7 min read
Like
Tbilisi, Georgia

¨All the Ajax in the world ain’t gonna clean your dirty laundry.¨ Carrie Underwood.

Oh lordy, ain’t that the truth!

Apparently, my Spotify playlist was playlist labeled ¨scorned¨. I definitely did not make it, but I usually find a song I want and play the entire playlist.

No, I am not feeling scorned, and usually, that is not a feeling that I prefer to stay in, but the songs are pumping me up. I should change the name to Scorned once but let’s dance it out.

Which I might have done in the hostel kitchen. It’s a country playlist, in case you are wondering.

I have been a country music fan since I was born, and I am not ashamed, even when I meet foreigners, and they ask all snarky:

¨so you like country western? ¨

Which makes me laugh when they call country western. I say yes; I like country music. Only people not from the US call it the Country Western, and my grandfather.

After I say yes, and go on to tell them that, most likely, the rock bands they love were once inspired by a good ole boy. They change the subject.

Today I exchanged some items from my suitcase, and this morning, I went thrifting. Did you know that Tbilisi, Georgia, has a ton of thrift shops, one or two per block?

I found one across from my hostel, so I got a couple of shirts and a pair of shorts. In return, later tonight, I brought them two shirts and shorts that no longer made me feel good about myself or my body.

Why should I wear clothing that makes me look and feel frumpy?

I will no longer; I have also been listening to a lot of Brendan Burchard, thanks to a friend’s recommendation. I have read his books, but last week I was in a bit of a creative slump, the algo kicking my butt, me questioning my life, wondering what am I even doing.

You know the downward spiral that we all go into when things ¨aren´t going our way¨.

I told this friend I was burnt out, and he sent me the Burchard podcast, and I am hooked. He said to listen to one episode daily, and I guarantee it will change your perception. It did.

I started the other day by telling myself:

¨I am in a creative rut¨, why am I even writing? Do I even want to continue writing? It’s pointless¨.

I was beating myself up; I love to write and felt misaligned and without direction. Today I was listening to one episode, and he talked about the feeling of burnout is usually boredom, and it was, and not only was it boredom, but I was not living in the present.

I was living in a future that was not even certain. Yes, he talks about setting goals and talking about them, but don’t forget about the present.

I forgot about the present.

That stimulated my little wardrobe overhaul; I always said when I settle, I will get nicer clothing; why wait? I had an outfit on today that I absolutely hated; I ditched it. I thrifted, so it’s not like I broke the bank.

I often do that. I get so worked up on what I want to achieve that I forget what I am acquiring now and my short-term goals. Yet my short-term goals are what is going to fund my long-term goals.

Except, I noticed thinking about my long-term goals was beginning to make me anxious; it was a ¨maybe¨ and a ¨ I think I can, I think I can¨ instead of ¨it is happening, and I can¨.

It is also because I have no direction and too many options, which is good but can also be a problem. I am someone who needs something to work toward. No longer is ¨enough money to travel sufficient for me¨.

Now is the time to hone in on my goals, what I want, and what I want to create on a bigger picture. In case you are all wondering, it has not changed, except I started to waiver in my conviction.

I want to write, and I want to have a farm; more specifically, I want to raise honey bees, and I want to live in Latin America, most likely Colombia.

For a while, I got caught up in the bureaucracy of ¨how will I get a visa¨ how can I stay there¨ ¨how can I buy a farm¨. I let it all go.

I will return, rent, and figure out the visa there or in another country, but most of you already know where my heart lies. It doesn’t happen to be a coincidence a friend sent me a message regarding this, and another friend has reached out to speak about their business which I helped get him organized while I was on his farm.

So if I have the vision for someone else, why not me?

Today as I was walking and listening, Brendan said what is the one thing holding you back? I did not have to think; it was/is fear. That is it.

Except when lying on my deathbed, I do not want to tell those around me I never bought and raised bees because I was afraid I would fail. It is scary to find and enjoy a home, especially for me.

Since I was 18, I have never lived in one place longer than 1.5 years, in one apartment or house. I have lived in the same city but moved all over the city every year.

I was afraid of growing roots because what if something terrible happens?

Since I had experience with loss and the pain too great, I could not even fathom it happening again, so I stayed on guard for way too long. That guard has been removed and will never return.

I wondered why I had such a hard breakup. I was crushed, uprooted, and I survived. I got through it in one piece. Yet in the past, even though nothing terrible happened, I still never grew roots because I was afraid.

Living in Colombia was the one time I allowed myself to grow roots, not 100% but they were latched it, just not fully there. Which was more than I have ever allowed since leaving Kentucky when I was 13.

Now the thought of growing scares me, I think of the economy and the instability, and then I think if I had followed 1 of my 100 crazy ideas when I was living in LA, what could have happened? I didn’t, and everything still worked out just as planned, but I never want to have those ¨what if’s ¨ ever again.

So when I try and fail, I will try again and again; Now I am not one to give up easily.

I had significant stress this month regarding income. As we all know, the summer slump is accurate, and I figured it out.

It will be a good month, and I will keep going. It is all how I looked at everything I was saying; it was terrible, and of course, it was. Yet it was like a light switch as soon as I changed my outlook (yes, grandma adjusted my attitude, I haven’t changed since I was 16).

It’s amazing what a little light and advice from a true friend can do., as well as a bit of music and some dancing around the room; try it. NOW!

XOXO

S

FamilyHumanityEmbarrassment
Like

About the Creator

sara burdick

I quit the rat race after working as a nurse for 16 years. I now write online and live abroad, currently Nomading, as I search for my forever home. Personal Stories, Travel and History

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.