Confessions logo

His New Friend

A four-year-old's point of view

By Stephanie HallPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
His New Friend
Photo by Natalya Zaritskaya on Unsplash

Since I was three months old, my parents haven’t been together. I don’t know why dad left, nor will mum tell the truth. I know my family is big, bigger than people realize. Dad was kicked out of home for getting Mum pregnant, they both lost their jobs, Dad found his way to Nan-Nan and Pop-Pop; who took Dad in; and Dad stayed with them for years.

My first birthday party was divided in two groups at one party, not the awkward kind but the kind where people don’t want to mingle with those from the other family, they are just there for me. I was use to the idea of my parents not being together but still the question of why aren’t they still played subconsciously in the back of my mind. Being a quick judge of character, I don’t trust a lot of people and with those threatening to slap me for being naughty, one could understand why when my bottom is bruised. Clinging on to Mum or Dad, my birthdays come and go, my fourth one being a bit different this time around.

Dad got a new job in a big warehouse, where he works four days of the week. His boss wouldn’t let him have Fridays off, so Dad got me later than he would like. Dad had a new girl start at the warehouse; he would talk about her a lot! Dad use to complain about her taking his requested day off, but what could Dad do; he would call in sick for Fridays a lot of the time.

Eventually, Dad showed off his tattoo to her, knowing she worked with children. Dad got to know her, Dad asked her to hang out and I met her; instantly accepting her. I gave her cuddles and tickles and even held her hand while Dad had a smoke break nearby. Dad and Her hung out until my Uncle came and got me; they hung out until late that night, going up to the mountains to look at the stars.

She stayed with Dad, sleeping at his place every night and I started playing games with her, such as building blocks, playing with stuffed animals and eventually she offered to start reading stories with me, mostly rereading my favourites; if I has been extra good, I got a second book read to me before bedtime. She brought over puzzles from her home, with elephants and trains. One of the puzzles have colours written on trains with animals and people. She also helps me to learn how to hold a pencil and identify letters, such as those in my own name.

When I went back to my mothers’ place, I would talk about her all week saying “she plays games and does puzzles with me. She reads me stories too!” My Mum isn’t impressed that there is another mother-figure in my life but there isn’t anything she can do as Dad loves her. She stops me from seeing Dad and her every weekend, only letting me see them once every two weeks. I don’t know why but I shrug it off, being a four-year-old, this doesn’t bother me as I just talk more about her, unbeknownst making Mum more annoyed.

She has taken Dad and I to see her family, driving for hours until we get to their place, late at night. Her Mum is awesome, playing cars with me and lifting me up into the air. Dad always laughs around her Mum but her Dad doesn’t seem to be fun to be around. Something tells me to stay away and I stay near my Dad.

She is my Dads’ best friend and she is my best friend, I hope she stays forever and Mum doesn’t make her leave; she is awesome!

Family
Like

About the Creator

Stephanie Hall

Slowly getting back into writing, still trying to actually finish a story and feel good about it.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.