Confessions logo

HappyThankyouMoreplease

Am amateur's attempt at humor and the chance for redemption

By Jazzy Published 5 months ago 3 min read
9
Doing this for that little girl 🎉

News of my deserting the internet has been greatly exaggerated.

-Jazzy

In fact, I have decided to embrace the whole gambit of the internet and its ability to connect us entirely. This is not without cost to my morals, which I have had to rewrite in light of my newest conquests. I was very against cataloging my life and having it on the web for all to see. However, as very wise many told me, publishing a book is not the hard part; marketing it is. Therefore, I have had to redirect myself and allow myself the possibility that social media and the internet are actually something that can be used for good. (You may remember that I deleted all my social media because I was worried about being stalked by a vindictive ex. However, it has been some time, and I have decided not to live in fear anymore to block this person.)

As you can see Mark was the wise man

I have had a blast getting to know Instagram again and learning how to use the features. I felt I had been missing an old friend who welcomed me with arms wide. I connected with many of you there and even had Donna repost my selfie while drinking coffee. This is the reason social media was created. We are meant to connect; that is what humans have that differs from animals (not all animals. There are some social types like us). However, that is what has set us apart as the apex predator: we can communicate, connect, and work together.

Humanity is beautiful, and I had lost sight of that; I was living in fear, but it can pull you in repeatedly...if you let it.

This has made all the difference in my mindset. I was looking for confirmation bias that the world was scary and that people didn't care, and the truth is, many of us care so much. I have received more love and kind words regarding my writing here on the platform than in real life, so with a humble heart, I thank you.

I will release my ambition to the world again, so I apologize. I thought it was uncouth to be so young and ambitious. How dare I want to write books, have a podcast, and enjoy sharing my poetry. How dare I think I have something the world wants to see? The answer is, I don't know if the world wants to see it, but dammit, I am going to do it anyways.

(I recently connected with a friend from the past; she was so happy to hear I published my book and stated fondly, "I always remember you writing." This was a cathartic moment for me to say, Jazzy, you are a writer.)

You will be tired of me telling you what I want to accomplish and seeing that something I try to do may only sometimes happen. That is why I want to thank all of you for being with me on the journey. You have been there and given me the heart and validation I crave, but more so, I have been given the gift of knowing I have community. I am happy with what we can accomplish together: our stories, books, podcasts, and websites. I want to ask you for more. Please continue to listen and engage; if you have ideas, I want to hear them. I humbly offer to catch up on reading and commenting back and once again join the fray if Vocal will have me. (Of course, my health will still be a priority, so I may have to limit my time, but that is better than giving up, I digress.) If you have something you want to do and need help, I'm here in whatever way I can show up. And finally, once again, thank you.

HumanityFriendship
9

About the Creator

Jazzy

Follow on IG @booksbyjaz

Head of the Jazzy Writers Association (JWA) in partnership with the Vocal HWA chapter.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • sleepy drafts4 months ago

    This is a great piece! I can totally relate to taking time off to deal with health/personal things and some of the feelings that accompany coming back. One of my favourite parts of this piece is, "I was looking for confirmation bias that the world was scary and that people didn't care, and the truth is, many of us care so much." I'm excited to read more from you this year. Thank you for writing and sharing this!

  • Donna Renee5 months ago

    I’m glad you are back 🥰 definitely keep prioritizing your health, we want you here— but we want you happy/healthy even more! ❤️

  • Congratulations again on your book! Also, you're always welcome here! Only read what you want to, only when you have time and only if your health permits you to. We love ya Jazzy! 🥰🥰🥰

  • Dana Crandell5 months ago

    I'm very happy to see such positivity. Welcome back and congratulations on publishing the book, which is currently in my cart for my great granddaughter. It's interesting that you had doubts about publishing so young. I'm about to test the waters, wondering how a dinosaur will fare out there, also thanks to the support of this community. We'll see.

  • Hannah Moore5 months ago

    Welcome back Jazzy.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.