Confessions logo

Happy Birthday to me

More reflections for the cacao course

By Jazzy Published 5 months ago 3 min read
10
Me at 21 (now I'm 28!)

Today is my birthday! Reflecting on my last year and all the years that brought me here is a trip!

Day 3 reflection

I mostly knew chocolate in the form of candy bars and syrups commercially. I remember learning about the Aztecs and how they drank chocolate every day, with chiles, and thinking that it sounded like heaven. Of course, their chocolate must have been so rich and complex, while ours is refined and overly processed. I remember my first sip of ceremonial cacao and it being a bit bitter and adding so much sugar (I am sad to admit!) In later years, I'd grow to like the bitter taste of pure dark chocolate, and I haven't returned to ceremonial cacao. As I await my shipment from Ora, I am so excited to try this drink once again. To deepen my understanding of the flavors and profiles in cacao, I had the most alarming understanding today… there is chocolate in quite a bit I eat, and I haven't eradicated it all just yet. So, while I continue this process, I will slowly remove those chocolates I had not realized were only adding to the problem of destroying the cacao industry! Being more intentional about what we consume is essential, and this has only solidified that idea for me.

Day Four Reflection

As of right now, I have had plenty of blood tests and other types of procedures to know I'm quite possibly at the healthiest I've been; that being said, I still have a ways to go to be at the ideal health levels. My body composition needs to be improved; as such, too much fat and not enough muscle can only add inflammation to my system. As I reflect on the habits I've created over time, I have also improved. I used to go out to eat constantly and drink well over 1-3 drinks a day. I wasn't moving at all and was always tired. That has, for the most part, subsided. I still need rest, but I am competing and working out more! For the most part, I drink once or twice a month, which I never thought was possible. I love wine and alcohol, but I don't bring it into the house anymore. It is partly to try to save money, but it is also not great for your system.

Daily: Drinking alkaline water and less sugar-based drinks is not too much of an issue, but less alcohol is better! Trying to be active daily, doing a strength class or playing tennis. Being more present with family and making sure to help facilitate good habits in my daughter as well.

Monthly: My husband and I manage a budget and have a date night at least once a month.

Yearly: I have published two children's books this year and hope to post at least three next year. I stay on top of my yearly check-ups, and my husband and I are trying to control our cholesterol better this next year and vitamin D.

Day 5 reflection

For the most part, my mental health is relatively good. I'm emotional, but as humans, shouldn't we be? Working out has helped quiet the mind, but sometimes I'm so tired I can't manage. I'd love to remove my dependence on caffeine, or at least lower it. According to this course, cacao can act on brain and body neurotransmitters, which is fascinating. This makes me want to know more about supplements and other botany-type things. What does the Earth have that can help us? Can we return to the earth and heal ourselves? Amazing.

Day 6 reflection

I have often felt my intuition telling me something, and I do the opposite: I would love to listen to myself. To trust myself. There have been many synchronous events in my life that all lead to this. The life I am leading now—dreams that seem to come true, almost like deja vu.

Day 7 reflection

Cacao seems to have more benefits than being a candy or even for a show. This experience has made my husband, and I want to start our gratitude and dream journals for Cassian and us. Get in the habit of being more aware of what’s around us and ourselves. I'm excited to have the cacao and see what can be unlocked!

SecretsHumanity
10

About the Creator

Jazzy

Follow on IG @booksbyjaz

Head of the Jazzy Writers Association (JWA) in partnership with the Vocal HWA chapter.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (10)

Sign in to comment
  • Grz Colm5 months ago

    Welcome back. That is fantastic you have been able to limit the alcohol usage.. this is something I’ve struggled with for awhile so I don’t know how to approach but anyway. I enjoyed your healthy reflections here as they made me think about my own life! 😊👍 I like that you do date night too!

  • It's already the next day for me (December 15) so I'm hoping that it's still 14 for you, lol. Happy Birthday! 🎂❤️ I have a very addictive personality where I get addicted or obsessed with things easily. That's why I've never tried alcohol until now. Buttttt, caffeine is a whole other story 🥹🤣🤣

  • Tiffany Gordon 5 months ago

    Happy Birthday Jazzy! I hope that your new year of life is amazing!!

  • Sid Aaron Hirji5 months ago

    Never enjoyed chili with cacao but ya definitely remember learning that. Happy Birthday

  • Dana Crandell5 months ago

    Happy Birthday, Jazzy! One of my favorite things to add to hot chocolate or brewed cacao is a pinch of ancho chile powder.

  • Hannah Moore5 months ago

    Happy birthday - it sounds like you are having quite the personal revolution.

  • Babs Iverson5 months ago

    Best wishes are sent your way! Happy Birthday, enjoy you day!

  • Rene Peters5 months ago

    Happy birthday! Hope this year is amazing for you!

  • Hope Martin5 months ago

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.