Confessions logo

Gossips with Friend

"The Power of Positive Friendship"

By IsraPublished about a month ago 3 min read
Gossips with Friend
Photo by Kier in Sight Archives on Unsplash

As I sat sipping coffee with my friend Emily, I couldn't help but notice the way she leaned in, her eyes sparkling with excitement, as she began to share the latest gossip. It was like a ritual, our weekly coffee dates, where we would dish out the latest scoop on our friends, family, and even strangers we had met.

At first, it was harmless, a way to catch up and share funny stories. But over time, I started to realize that our gossipy sessions were becoming more and more toxic. We would spend hours tearing others down, analyzing their every move, and speculating about their personal lives.

One day, as we were discussing our mutual friend Sarah's recent breakup, Emily dropped a bombshell. "I heard she was seen with someone new," she whispered, her voice dripping with excitement. I felt a pang of guilt, knowing that Sarah was still reeling from her split.

But instead of stopping there, we continued to dissect the situation, wondering who this new person was, and what it meant for Sarah's future. We even went so far as to speculate about her ex's new girlfriend, a woman we had never even met.

As the conversation went on, I started to feel uncomfortable. Was this really what our friendship had been reduced to? Gossiping about others, instead of supporting and uplifting each other?

I tried to change the subject, but Emily was too invested. She kept pushing for more information, more juicy details. And I found myself getting sucked in, despite my reservations.

It wasn't until we parted ways, and I was walking home, that I realized the harm we had done. We had taken someone's personal struggle, and turned it into entertainment. We had reduced Sarah's pain to a mere gossip session.

I knew then that I needed to make a change. I couldn't continue to participate in this toxic cycle of gossip and negativity. I needed to focus on building each other up, rather than tearing others down.

The next time Emily and I met for coffee, I made a conscious effort to steer the conversation towards more positive topics. We talked about our goals, our dreams, and our aspirations. And you know what? It was liberating.

We laughed, we supported each other, and we left feeling uplifted. It was a small step, but it was a start. And I knew that from then on, our friendship would be built on a foundation of kindness, rather than gossip.

As time went on, I noticed a change in our friendship. We no longer felt the need to gossip or tear others down. Instead, we focused on supporting each other, and lifting each other up. We started to share our own struggles and fears, and offer words of encouragement.

One day, Emily came to me, tears streaming down her face. She had just received some devastating news, and she didn't know how to cope. I listened, offering a shoulder to cry on, and words of comfort. And in that moment, I realized that our friendship had transformed. We were no longer just gossipy friends, but true confidantes.

We started to spread positivity and kindness wherever we went. We complimented strangers, held doors open for others, and offered smiles to those who needed them. And you know what? It was contagious. Others started to do the same, and soon our whole community was filled with love and support.

As time went on, I noticed a change in our friendship. We no longer felt the need to gossip or tear others down. Instead, we focused on supporting each other, and lifting each other up.

Friendship

About the Creator

Isra

Versatile writer skilled in both tale & stories. Captivate readers with engaging content & immersive narratives. Passionate about informing, inspiring, & entertaining through words.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    IsraWritten by Isra

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.