Confessions logo

Free Ride

Some Self Criticism Because I Feel I Do Not Reciprocate Enough With My Audience

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished 9 months ago 3 min read
18
An AI Nightcafe Creation By The Author

Introduction

So many people comment on my stories and like my writing, some even send tips. My friends and Vocal audience support me incredibly and I am extremely grateful for that.

I feel that I am getting a free ride (hence the inclusion of the Edgar Winter song for this piece), lots of people reading my stories and effectively dropping money into my Vocal wallet and I feel I do nowhere near enough in return.

I do try and reciprocate but when I get ten comments on a piece fairly quickly I know there is no way I can quickly reciprocate.

So What Do I Do Now?

The thing is I have written over fifteen hundred Vocal stories, but have liked over nine thousand. That means for every story I have published I have hearted and commented on around six more, so although I feel I am not interacting and reciprocating, the figures state that, actually, I am doing a lot.

Judey Kalchik published this excellent piece on reciprocity

and I have published a couple of pieces as well here

So stepping back I think I can keep doing what I am doing. Some people have more time to read and interact with other creators but I have no intention of retiring for another ten years unless some of my books start selling.

I see a few people saying they want more reads. In the past, I have told them reciprocity is the key, but they have never engaged with anyone. As an admin in Vocal Society Society. I have access to these figures so I can see who interacts and who just drops their stories expecting people to read.

I could do the same for other groups but don't want to step on people's toes.

If I Seem To Ignore You

Give me a shout or prod. We are all here to support each other. I know I write and publish a lot but that does not entitle me to preferential treatment or extra attention.

I have had to write this piece because there are a few who almost always comment on mine and then I feel lazy because I know they have published stories that I have not yet read.

I will add them to the list on "Our Shining Beacons Of Reciprocity On Vocal"

rather than in here because that list can just grow and grow and everyone on that list is worth your time. Also, check out the Creationati (yes I made that word up) on my profile.

We Only Have So Much Time

Some of us have a lot of free time, but others have families, jobs, and other commitments that take priority over our creations and interactions on Vocal.

Remember they are your priorities, Vocal is not life but is a very engaging hobby. Since joining Vocal my Facebook friend list has doubled. Part of that is because I do like to know what my Vocal friends are up to that they share on Social media, but I never ask people especially women to be Facebook friends but usually accept Facebook friend requests.

I wrote about this here.

Conclusion

I feel much better after writing this. I feel on the right path. I do engage as much as I can, and am always open to helping and advising people. After looking at my recorded figures I have seen that I do engage and reciprocate as much as is practicable for me.

I will leave with a poem I wrote that lists my favourite Vocal Facebook groups, and without them I would certainly not be as successful as I have.

Secrets
18

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudey

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (15)

Sign in to comment
  • Tiffany Gordon 9 months ago

    I appreciate your contributions! Just do what you can!

  • Rachel Deeming9 months ago

    It's hard to reciprocate. I do try to read and engage and comment but I struggle. I have small moments, like this one only and that's okay, I think. I wish I could do more but it would be to the detriment of something else more important. But I do it and that's what matters. Always appreciate your support.

  • I think dedication wanes for some people after a year or so on Vocal because of frankly, the pay, and yes life just gets busy and writers may have to prioritize differently. I like to catch up on lagging on my reads once or twice a month if I can't do it daily. You make some good points. With subscribers for example, I have subscribed to also twice as many who subscribe back. But it is what it is. I'm still enjoying Vocal, and your stories!

  • It's not just the hearts you leave, Mike, it's all you do through the Facebook groups, etc. You've done an amazing job supporting others on Vocal. I feel like we (especially I) don't do enough to support you.

  • I try to reciprocate as much as I can but life is busy. I can’t believe you have 1500+ stories I think I have like 70 lol Don’t worry about the reads I just do the best I can an interact as much as I can

  • Nowadays, I don't interact in the groups anymore. It's not that I don't want to but I just get so caught up with my subscriptions from the Vocal notifications and barely have time for the groups. I don't know how you manage to be so active on both. You're definitely a superhero!

  • Dana Stewart9 months ago

    I always enjoy reading your pieces, the ones I get to anyway. Seems like there’s a never ending list, but I’m not complaining- I really enjoy having a pipeline. Keep up the good work.

  • Lacy Loar-Gruenler9 months ago

    Mike, this is so insightful. We all deal with the issue of supporting each other while we continue to write and hope for support. Your generousity in supprting others is what we all need to do. There are darn good stories on Vocal!

  • Naomi Gold9 months ago

    I love the song, and I feel you on this. Just as I have a never ending stack of books I want to read, there are a plethora of Vocal stories I want to get to—and that will never change!

  • Sheila L. Chingwa9 months ago

    I have had the very same thoughts go through my head. Almost wrote you a book in how much I get this.

  • Lana V Lynx9 months ago

    We all have only 24 hours in the day, and not all those hours are spent on Vocal. I think you should be a little easier on yourself, Mike, especially given the amount of people who read you.

  • Sian N. Clutton9 months ago

    Very honest of you, Mike! I'm sure a lot of people are in the same boat, if they're getting as many reads as you! 😊

  • Cendrine Marrouat9 months ago

    I think you worry way too much about stuff, Mike. You cannot be everywhere. ;-) I try to read three stories for each one I publish. During the weekend, I also tend to read a little more. And I also recently started my series of favorite stories across Vocal.

  • I think it’s perfect that I came to this story while looking for something of yours to read as a thank you for the nice comment you left on my poem. Perfect! I agree that reciprocity on this platform is important, and I think it’s a good reminder for me to have read this- it’s so easy to forget to read other’s pieces, but when I do, I always find something I enjoy. They work hard and create amazing things! Now I’ll have to go find something of yours that’s a bit more story-like so I can see your style!

  • Mother Combs9 months ago

    Love you articles.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.