Confessions logo

Finding My Talent

Who am I

By Mariann CarrollPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 months ago 3 min read
4
Finding My Talent
Photo by Jon Tyson on Unsplash

I grow up with a mom who pushes me into things. I was born in Chicago, Illinois USA. My mom is Asian and my dad is black. My dad was just a money provider for my upbringing. My mom made all my up bring decisions without asking me how I feel about them. I never really had spent any quality time with my Dad cause every time my mom sends me to my Dad over the summers, he passed me off to family members mainly my Aunts. The Last time I ever been to my Dad's house I was two. My mom moves to the south and meets my stepdad. I had to share my mom. I was not too happy about that. My mom told me I try to break them apart at my mom and stepdad's wedding. Everyone thought it was cute and funny. I was devastated, as a child of three. My mom was my world no one else was allowed in it. Maybe if my mom shares her plan with me and asks me how I felt? Things would be different.

My Mom, Step-Dad, and I moved to Upstate New York. That's where life becomes more complicated in my life. My middle brother was born. I became his protector when he was born. My mom and stepdad started arguing a lot, mainly about money and jealousy. My mom was a very beautiful woman. There was not a lot of interracial marriage back then like it is now. We move so many times it was hard for me to get comfortable. Finally, my parents got a house and we stay there for more than five years at least my parents and my younger brother. My mom put me in ballet classes at four years olds. It was not easy as you thought. Ballet is thought with the use of french words. You have to bend your body in an uncomfortable position. I attend all my ballet classes with a grumpy attitude, why? I felt it was not my choice to take the classes. My mom got pregnant uninspected with my youngest brother and it was a difficult pregnancy. My mom needed help and my mom's parents came from Asia to help mom. That was the first time I met my mother's parents. Could not understand a word they say. They were not really happy my mom married a foreigner.

The real reason my grandparents came was to take me and my middle brother to their country. Before, my grandparents arrived a major traumatic event happen in my life. I was five and I move to a country where the culture and language were very foreign to me. My grandparent enrolls me in school. On my first day of school, people stare at me like I was an alien. I got depressed and so my grandparent moved me into a private school where at least there was some English spoken. My grandparent hired a tutor so I can learn their language faster.I would say within Two months I was fluent. I came back to the Stated when I was 10 years old. The USA became a foreign country to me.

I forgot how to speak English.I was put in special classes because I could not comprehend English and it affect the other subjects.I felt foreign in my own country.I was getting unhappy and so my mom move us to a catholic school.

I became a some what rebelious teenage and my mom could not handle me.She send me to my Father in Chicago.My father send me to my favorite aunt house.I miss my mom so back to upstate New york.My mom fear I might get pregnant ,she sent me back to her country to finish all my studies.

How she got me to go there,she told me it was a vacation but she left me there.I had to learn their language all over again.I realise the country was really paradise.I made a lot of friends and travel .Learn a few more different languages.I miss my home land ,USA.Came back at 27 years old.I found a few jobs to save up to plan where should I go from there.I leave in Chicago to get to know my mom's and dad's families that live there.Chicago never feels like home to me.I move back to Up New York State.

I lived with my brother and got two jobs.I work at the bank and department store. Thats where my Life started ,where I had the sense that I have control over my own life now 1999 to 2000.

Childhood
4

About the Creator

Mariann Carroll

Proactive for positive change.Born in the City of Chicago ,Illinois.

Multi race .Studied in a foreign country .Fluent in several languages .

fascinated by diversity.A Romantic and a dreamer.Interest in healthy living

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Sandra Tena Cole3 months ago

    What a journey! Literally ❤️ x

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.