Confessions logo

Encaptivating Escapes

Unlocking the prison of my mind

By Jennifer AllenPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
My Beloved

Like a bee drawn to the sweet nectar of a flower, I too was lured to my own symbolic flower. Each beautifully crafted petal freeing the cold metal bars of my mind into a magical intriguing world of endless adventures and experiences. I've lived countless adventures with Ramona Quimby as she so bravely endured the woes of the third grade, traveled back in time with Laura Ingalls as she battled the hot drenching summers, the relentless blizzard filled winters, I've tasted the savory made from scratch buttered biscuits, the mouth watering blueberry pies that Mrs. Ingalls so diligently prepared for her family. My heart ached as I was encaptivated within the pages of "Roll of thunder, here my cry" as I experienced first hand, the racism that Cassie and her loved ones had to endure daily throughout their lives. I cried with the Big Ma and Cassie's father as they watched the land their grandfather had worked so hard for years to buy, burn to the ground. R.L. Stine took me on tours through nightmarish and unbelievable adventures. I've visited haunted houses and theme parks, met an evil talking dummy named Slappy, and even been chased by a mummy that was somehow cursed. Those countless adventures, laughs, and screams are somethings I hold dear to my heart, and I am so grateful I was able to experience them.

My first love, my best friend, my passion is reading. Through the comforting embrace of a book, I was able to escape a not so pleasant childhood. Growing up with drug addicted mother, my brothers and I were often left to our own devices to survive. Being the only girl and the youngest I became somewhat of a loner. It's very easy to become trapped within the walls of a tragic reality that we are living in for that moment, that we tend to forget there is a big beautiful world full of anything we could possibly imagine. Reading was that lighthouse, that beacon of hope standing tall in the midst of my darkness, that guided me to dream big. Through books I was able to see the gifts that were hidden so deep within me. I realized that I had a love of writing and acting. As a child I would go outside and act out movies I had watched on T.V. and as I got older, I began to write Christmas plays for my church. I loved to see the audience laughing and wowing as the actors performed the script, knowing that for just that moment, I was able to bring them joy is a feeling I can't describe. Even though I haven't gotten there yet, my ultimate goal is to write screenplays for big production companies.

I want my writings to inspire, motivate, and encourage my audience. I want them to be swept up off their feet like a groom's love engulfs his bride. I don't think people understand the beauty of curling up in their special quiet place with a glass of their favorite drink, and letting each page of a book take them on an unknown adventure they never could experience in real life. You really can become anybody and explore your wildest dreams imaginable. Though life can sometimes be difficult, just that moment of escape can give anyone a refreshing breath of air to face another day, another moment, another second. Just as the books I read unlocked my mind from the prison of my reality, I want others to find that same peace and comfort. It's my dream to one day give to others what reading has given to me, freedom.

Family

About the Creator

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Jennifer AllenWritten by Jennifer Allen

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.