Confessions logo

Drowsy

Lenient

By Alex JennettPublished about a year ago 3 min read
1
Drowsy
Photo by Toni Tan on Unsplash

Mistletoe. Makes you very kissable and very drowsy. That is the nature of the plant. It caresses your mind, it caresses your body. A slave that will bring on the end of human kind, in one single green fungi. The cat ran into the empty box of coffee pods, it was hillarious. Not knowing that it was there in the first place. Maybe it had eaten some of the infamous mistletoe on its way out. Cats are such a curious breed, it just makes you want to giggle. The sound waves they can hear are incredible. And the fact that they can hear in the dark is also awesome, echolocation, I think it is called. If I am not mistaken.

I sure am glad we got Mando. He is so full of life and spirit, like a puppy, except easier to take care of. Spunky should have been his name. Getting on to a different level of insanity. Racing with a twisted heart. Twisting in different directions at the same time.

There is a patch of mistletoe left-over, down the street. I wonder if i should pick it up and nail it to the door frame above the wall. Maybe then I will get an awesome smooch?

Why am I so tired? Waking up, just to fall back to sleep. It is a very vicious cycle. And I do not get much of a sleep release anyways when I do close my eyes. The dreams end up being stress and anxiety dreams. Full of criminals and slight exhaltations. They would not tell me any different than what I had already known.

The doctor wanted me to do a sleep study. One with those fancy wires and water tanks. TV's and radios and all sorts of other do-hickeys. Full of the different colors of blue and white and red and green. Kind of multi-colored, in its own way.

It is my busy mind crawling along the surface. Keeping me awake at night. When will I find the peaceful medium. To be able to sleep well? I just fall asleep and wake up and fall asleep and do it again, in a matter of moments. Especially when there is a time change. Multiplying my momentous occasions.

The curse is that I will never be able to change the command of it anyways. Closing my eyes and opening them and hoping that things will change in the blink of that time frame. Although I know it will not happen that way forever. Thank you for being there by my side, and helping me through the thick and the thin, although I know that it is very difficult for both of us.

Getting the brunt of the tide pools in my eyes. I have no idea where I was going with that thought? That is ok, the thoughts will flow again to my fingertips as pens on velcro. Listen to it crunch while I sleep and toss and turn. In a bed full of love and heat and sweat, sometimes blood and passion.

It is all very drowsying. Just to comprehend what I have to say. Thank God that we have our pets and animals to ease us through the rough days and nights. Which brings me to another point. I dislike when people mistreat their pets and animals. It is not right or fair to leave them out in the rain and then expect them to love them unconditionally anyways. They should not be able to have them. Period.

That does not make much sense with this story about sleep, but it is another side bar that needs to be discussed.

Humanity
1

About the Creator

Alex Jennett

Just starting to publish my works. Enjoy listening to music and writing poetry. I am surprised that since I started writing, within 2 years, with Vocal I have created 78 stories. Music and the written word, help me ease my high anxiety.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.