Confessions logo

DEAR DAD

A Father's Day Letter

By Babs IversonPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 5 min read
20
Picture by J. Covalt

June 10, 2022

Dear Dad,

Looking at the calendar, I immediately remember. Today would have been your wedding anniversary. But, you never made a fuss or celebrated anniversaries.

In fact, PDA, a personal display of affection wasn't a family thing. In your immediate family or our family, yet somehow, I became a hugger, loving to give and receive hugs!

Amazingly, you gave me two remarkable and memorable hugs that are recalled. Yes, hugs! Do you remember the times? You must have thought my college courses were never going to end. That thought crossed my mind too. It was the finale! Finally, my long educational journey came to a close.

Again, you traveled to Texas. this time, for my graduation. (At the time, we didn't know that it would be your last trip to the lone star state.) After my graduation ceremony from university, you gave me the biggest and best hug. Promise you, will never forget it.

The other? Approximately, three years later, it was a beautiful April morning. The rental car was packed, along with some of mom's homemade cookies for the drive to the Harrisburg Airport. Leaving you and mom after a short sweet two-day visit, farewells are always bittersweet.

As you know, we never ever say, "Goodbye."

You exclaimed, "Have a safe trip!"

At that point, you gave me the biggest and best hug. While receiving your embrace, momentarily thought how it was reminiscent of the after-graduation ceremony hug.

Quickly, you slipped a twenty-dollar bill into my hand before I sat behind the steering wheel. Closing the rental car door, waved and drove off. Two weeks later, you were gone. So, the farewell scene often plays out like a movie in my mind.

Looking at the calendar, Father's Day is just around the corner. This year, Vocal has announced their Dads Are No Joke Challenge. That being the case, my thoughts and focus have been on our relationship.

Maybe, people referred to me as your mini-me. Nevertheless, I was your shadow. Riding along in your old green pick-up truck, my job was to wait in the cab of the truck while you made a quick purchase at the hardware store or while you visited a few minutes with a neighbor. Since we were in a rural area, neighbors were a mile or more away from our home.

Of course, you didn't know it but those truck rides meant a lot to me. During those one-on-one trips in the truck, you taught me how to spell and you taught me simple math equations. Besides, at the time, truck rides were better than hugs.

At the age of six and before entering second grade, you had me spelling Pennsylvania forward and backward.

When you needed a tool, you depended on me to retrieve it for you. Even before we built our new home, I was your assistant and helper. Whether it was repairing a TV, fixing something around the house, or working on a vehicle, I was right there with you.

Speaking of helping, do you remember how exasperated you were when you drove me back home to change clothes. Did you know that I never wore that purple and white dress with the wooden nickel print after that dramatic and traumatic experience?

Well! Do you recall what happened? We were at Hecla Park. At age nine, being the eldest and responsible for my younger sisters, I ran after my baby sister when she ran off and ran away from mom. Running fast and faster, I fell into the hidden mud puddle. From head to toe, I was a muddy, dirty mess. Naturally, mom was horrified. At mom's insistence, you had to take me home to clean up and change clothes.

Yes, you were furious and cross. Who wouldn't have been angry? Trying to hold back the tears, it didn't work. Tearfully, knew that cleaning myself up and changing my clothes was all that was required and necessary. Definitely could have used a hug, yet, you weren't the hugging kind.

Thinking back, it was a few years after our home was built. When enrolled in Junior High School, the annual Walker Township Carnival rolled around. On that particular occasion, you were in charge and control of the Lucky 7 game. With my eyes closed, it's easy to visualize that huge jar. The jar was filled with numbers. As you know, the objective was to select a number ending with a seven; such as 7, 77, and 777. Those who purchased a number with the lucky seven were able to select a prize.

Naturally, there was a prize that caught my attention and my eye. It was a music box. Purchasing numbers one after the other, my money quickly was spent and gone, while trying to win that music box.

Unsurprisingly, you knew how badly that little music box was desired. The next morning, you surprised me. You purchased that prize for me. Oh my! It was a wonderful surprise! That memory hasn't been forgotten either. As for the music box, it became my prized possession. At the time, hugs weren't required. Because of your love, you gave me the one thing that I tried to win.

Looking at the calendar, football season will be here before we know it. Thank goodness! Perhaps, the 105 temperatures are too much to handle. My thoughts lean toward cooler Fall weather.

Recalling, during my senior year, I made my Indian costume out of an old red curtain for the annual football "Kettle Game." Back then, the grudge game between Bellefonte & State College High Schools was a big deal, especially for the senior class.

As always the good dad, you were there to pick me up after the game.

Unbelievable, our Bellefonte Red Raiders lost. While heartbroken, was proud of myself for maintaining my composure. Getting into the station wagon and setting right behind the driver's seat, you asked about the game. When I told you that we lost.

You replied, "There's always next year."

That was an old Brooklyn Dodger's saying. Knowing that now, but didn't know it back then.

Lovingly, you attempted to console me. Unfortunately, you temporarily forgot that it was my senior year. There wasn't going to be a next year's game for me.

No longer self-controlled, the dam broke! Tears, sniffles, and sobs! No hugs, but that's okay. Regrettably, we both felt bad.

Most of the time, you were calm, courageous, and caring. Being a parent and a dad is one of the most important jobs on the planet. Dads are no joke. I am totally grateful and thankful that you were my dad. Wishing you a Happy Father's Day!

Love,

Your eldest daughter

Family
20

About the Creator

Babs Iverson

Barbara J Iversen, also known as Babs Iverson, lives in Texas and loves her grandkids to the moon and back. After writing one story, she found that writing has many benefits especially during a pandemic and a Texas-size Arctic Blast.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (13)

Sign in to comment
  • Russell Ormsby 2 years ago

    Like rare jewels, precious moments never fail to beautify your most memorable treasures. Nice job my dear friend. Best wishes and thank you for sharing your dad with us.👍

  • Aww. I still can't spell Pennsylvania forward without concentrating.

  • Caroline Jane2 years ago

    Awww Babs. That read like honey. I feel all warm and gooey on the inside. Fabulous childhood memories. 🥰

  • That's an incredible tribute to your father. He'd have been proud.

  • The Dani Writer2 years ago

    A heart-filled share worthy of flowers thrown at your feet...and Dad.

  • Lovely! What a life you shared!!

  • That was so touching and beautiful!

  • Misty Rae2 years ago

    That was beautiful!

  • Beautifully written as always my friend

  • Mariann Carroll2 years ago

    How cute, daddy’s little helper. It’s not easy being the eldest. Excellent

  • Linda Rivenbark2 years ago

    Heartwarming story of you and your very special Dad!

  • Cathy holmes2 years ago

    very nicely done.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.