Confessions logo

Dare I!

Nothing's better than starting over...

By Stefany ScalesPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 3 min read
1
Roots to water!

I look at my life and wonder, "Can life start over in a jar or in water?" Clearly it can according to this photograph. It actually does in the sacs that houses it before conception so why not after it has been given life!

I plant myself in this jar, I want life to start with me. I'm good at creating life, it's evident in the ten I've birthed! So, I tell myself, "You have life!" It has started for you 60 plus years ago with benefits and more." "What more can you get from what you have, and why do you speak of wanting life again?" an aggravated voice asks within. "Ten isn't enough?", the voice asks in haste?" "To create what has laid in wait of discovery", I do reply.

"Discovery?", it asks in excitement. "Yes", I reply. "Discovery!" So, the seed has been planted, it's time for new life to start again, and it begins again with me.

The insides churn, the mind thinks, the heart freezes, the roots are stirred in need of fixation as the seed is planted. The water boils for my tea as I sit and think.

"Where does this go for a seasoned gal way past those childbearing years of starting over again?" "What will people think? Hell, what will my children think?" "Surely, I don't fit the status quo of those who have made millions way before the retiring age." I haven't begun to accomplish anything worthy of retiring for and I'm almost there." No, I haven't, but I surely have started over enough times to know that starting over begins with roots (water too) if I just allow the roots to adapt to the reason why they were planted... to grow and reproduce!

So, yes, I'll start over because I long to be that root. The grounded root submerged in water producing and reproducing beauty, growing endlessly, inspiring more growth and spreading like a wildflower.

The root that was given life by Master hands, tended from the richest soil to be crafted on the potter's wheel. The root that stayed in the elements that kept it alive until it flourished. The one that clung to life until many others took root and locked into the growth knowing they too could begin again.

That one root which started from propagation so the legacy could continue until it caught up to where it should rightfully be placed. In Queen's palaces, Prince's chambers, grand ballrooms, exclusive events, royal affairs, and speaking engagements has never lost its tenacity to thrive. Yes, the one that wanted to be replanted as the opportunity to start again was given thought.

So, it's only natural to start over. Some roots die in an uncared-for environment when not tended to carefully. My environment was challenged but well taken care of. Yes, I'll start over and I'll start over right! And I won't fail or get discouraged. "Are you sure about that?", the still small voice asks me. "Not if I can help it." I reply. Not if I can help it!

Many times in life we may have to start over. Sometimes it's simply due to a lack of knowledge, innocence to the circumstances, failure to plan right, arrogance to wanting to not take advice, or just the plain ole fact that we know we must. Whatever the reason, we must be willing to accept the facts and challenge ourselves.

It is hard, it is fearful, it is disheartening, it is overwhelming, but it is doable and very worth it. Numerous people who have been faced with starting over have faced the same apprehensions but were determined to conquer whatever caused them to have to start over. In doing so they accomplished strengths and rewards that they thought were unsurmountable at one time in their lives.

So, for those who haven't reached the summit in a time frame that others think they should have, just look them squarely in the face and proclaim, "I will get there!", and then, start over!!!

Humanity
1

About the Creator

Stefany Scales

HI, I'm Stefany, here trying something new and challenging because it's time! It's hard for me to write a short bio but I will say that I'm not classically trained in the art of writing, but I am God gifted and ready to inspire! Enjoy!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Tina D'Angeloabout a year ago

    Stefany, I think I love your brain! Yes, indeed.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.