Confessions logo

Cringe

Just a few not so funny memories from puberty

By Chloe Rose Violet 🌹Published 4 months ago • 3 min read
1
Cringe
Photo by kyo azuma on Unsplash

Ah puberty. That really uncomfortable stage in your life where everything is just changing. Just being a teenager in itself is awkward and a frightening experience to go through. It's lifechanging.

I've got a few weird stories from that time in my life that I've been thinking about lately.

I went to a Catholic school growing up. I've got a lot of fond memories of that school and quite a few bad ones too. But the good outweigh the bad.

Kids can just be mean. I remember the days where I dreaded going to school because of what was going on with me at the time. I was just filled with so much anxiety back then.

I shared my first relationship and first kiss story a couple weeks ago. If you haven't read that one I highly recommend you check it out because that was an extremely embarrassing story from my childhood.


I remember one time during school, I was probably about 12 or 13. I decided to throw toliet paper in my bra to make my boobs look bigger because in my mind they wete too small. Well to say that was a mistake was an understatement. Come gym class time, I probably should have removed the toilet paper in my bra. Turns out running laps around the gym caused them to fall out. So it wasn't until a girl that knew I was stuffing my bra pointed out the wadded up paper on the floor that I noticed it fell out during class. Mortified, I pretended it wasn't mine. There was a guy I was trying to impress back then for some dumb reason. Moral of the story, never stuff your bra to impress a boy because your friends will call you out on it. I happen to cringe at this memory of mine now as an adult.

Another embarrassing puberty story of mine was the day I got my first period. I was wearing beige cordory pants. Well I managed to wait all day before it happened on the bus ride home. The moment that every girl is terrified of. I felt a gush and I got confused because I didn't have to go to the bathroom. As soon as I got home I went and I checked my underwear. I was so sure it was my period. I freaked out and called my mom into the bathroom and she kind of made fun of me. There's more to the story but it's kind of gross. The next day at school, it felt like everybody knew I was wearing a pad. It was like my life had changed overnight and I was humiliated. Girls talk at that age you know. It's like a special club that only a few people belong to in the beginning which now as an adult doesn't make sense to me. Why are we all keeping a tally of who has gotten their periods and who hasn't? To exclude people. To embarrass them for something their body can't control.

I also remember shoving my backpack into my locker and one of my teachers pulled me aside to ask if everything was alright at home. At the time I was mad about it because it just called more attention to me than I would have liked but now as an adult I understand and I'm very thankful that there was someone in my life that was looking out for me back then.

Moral of this post is, be mindful about what your children are going through during this time in their lives. Kid problems seem minor to adults sometimes but when you're in the midst of them they feel like the end of the world. I don't remember those times in my life very fondly. I just thought these stories of mine were funny and worth writing about. Hopefully they made some of you laugh a little bit.

Thank you for reading.

Do you have any embarrassing stories from the puberty age?

Chloe Rose Violet 🌹

SchoolEmbarrassmentCONTENT WARNINGChildhood
1

About the Creator

Chloe Rose Violet 🌹

Writing from the heart about love, life, music, mental health, and everything else in between. 💀🥰

•Follow me on Threads @rosefearless

•Like my new Facebook page ROSEFEARLESS

Purchase my affirmation cards here!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.