Confessions logo

Conversations with Myself

If I could talk to my younger self, this is what I would say

By Chloe Rose Violet 🌹Published 11 months ago 3 min read
Top Story - July 2023
44
Conversations with Myself
Photo by Johnny Cohen on Unsplash

"Children see magic because they look for it." -Christopher Moore

I think as adults we spend a lot of time reflecting upon our childhoods. I know I do, especially while raising my two young children. I love shaping their little worlds. All I want to do is be a better parent, every day that is the goal that I work towards. I have learnt a lot from my past, after all it is the best teacher.

I have a lot to say to my younger self.

I wish I could go back in time and just hug little me but that’s not how life works. You just live and you learn. That is just how life goes, I'm afraid.

Myself at the age of ten

If I could go back and talk to myself as a child this is what I would say:

  • You are loved beyond words.
  • Take everything one day at a time.
  • Don't be in such a hurry to grow up.
  • Don’t be afraid of failure. Sometimes it’s just guiding you to where you’re meant to be.
  • You are trying too hard to please the people around you.
  • You do not have to carry the weight of the world on your shoulders. Put things down. You are only a child once. You don't have to carry the weight of the adult problems in your life.
  • Do not waste time trying to date when you're young. There is much more value in friendships than romantic relationships. Plus there will be plenty of time for that later in life.
  • Do not pretend to be anyone other than yourself. I spent years hiding who I truly was only to truly discover who I was later in life. You are who you are. Don't let the world change that.
  • Do not let yourself be afraid to ask for help when you need it.
  • Dream big. Dream often. Dream loudly and without a doubt pursue those dreams. Most people who talk badly about your dreams are ones who have forgotten about their owns.
  • Be kind to yourself and to others. Never act with hate because you always feel ugly afterwards.
  • Never doubt yourself. You are everything and more to the right people.
  • Appreciate life for what it is. There is so much good in the world, you just have to look for it.
  • Do not always listen to your parents. They don’t always know what’s right and what’s wrong. You can choose who your role models are.
  • Fear of being abandoned by someone can make you hold on too tightly to things not meant for you.
  • Do not take rejection so seriously. There are millions of people in the world and you’ll find the right people in your life.
  • Stay in school. Get your education. It will be important to you later in life.
  • Don't allow yourself to dwell in the past. It teaches you a lesson that's for sure.
  • Learn from your mistakes and don't make them again.
  • Do not stress out over your appearance. Flowers don't all look the same and we still call them beautiful.
  • You words are important. Use them wisely.
  • Save your money and use it wisely.
  • Travel. Experience the world.

I want to cry after composing this form of letter to my younger self. I think it’s good to reflect on the past but not to dwell on it any longer than you have to. Little me went through so many things that she didn't have to. I want to tell her that everything will be okay in the end. Things fall into place when they are meant to. At least, that is what I believe.

What would you say to your younger self if you could?

Chloe Rose Violet

SecretsHumanityChildhood
44

About the Creator

Chloe Rose Violet 🌹

Writing from the heart about love, life, music, mental health, and everything else in between. 💀🥰

•Follow me on Threads @rosefearless

•Like my new Facebook page ROSEFEARLESS

Purchase my affirmation cards here!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  1. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (20)

Sign in to comment
  • jay Barua10 months ago

    These are the advise I would love to give myself as well. Well written

  • if only we could go back and use the lessons learned to help us through. Great job, and congrats

  • Donna Fox (HKB)11 months ago

    Chloe, I love the sentiment and thought behind this very personal story of yours. It’s relatable and really hits home for me. The line “I think it’s good to reflect on the past but now dwell on it…” such a great take away from the journey you’ve taken! So wisely said by you! I feel like that’s a hard thing for a lot of us to overcome, reflecting and not dwelling. Interestingly enough, I would say very similar things to myself that you said to yourself… which only makes this more heartfelt to me, knowing I’m not alone! So thank you for saying the things! Also congrats on Top Story, this was incredibly well deserved!

  • Eiman Fatima11 months ago

    Ahh! I miss those good old days!

  • unknown person11 months ago

    https://vocal.media/humans/my-last-love-letter-871rk0u9p

  • Ana Behm11 months ago

    So true!!

  • Ruth Stewart11 months ago

    This is a very interesting read, not least because it reminds me of inner child work from therapy. Beautifully put.

  • murtaza ali11 months ago

    nice very well written

  • William Rudyard11 months ago

    Everyone needs this list and the perspective you share here. I'm not sure what I would say to my yongerself. Perhaps nothing because "paradox" and all, you know time travel nerd stuff. I've written a brief reflection on my young life also. Not in the same vein as yours, but reflective like yours. If you get a moment please check it out. Let me know what you think. I really enjoyed it Chole.

  • Alex11 months ago

    Amazing

  • Cathy holmes11 months ago

    This is absolutely wonderful. So many wise tidbits of advice for your younger self and your children. Well done and congrats on the TS.

  • Jazzy 11 months ago

    I loved this. I often think about what I would say to myself, especially when I look at my little one. I try to remember what I would have needed as a kid and give that to her. I try to listen to her and see the world through her eyes. It has made all the difference.

  • Shanica11 months ago

    Poignant. Is the one word description. Because as we get older, indeed we tend to reflect more upon our childhood days. Sometimes, we want to take a time travel back, maybe once in a while. With tears in my eyes and laughter in my heart, I read every line, out loud. Keep sharing.

  • Gerald Holmes11 months ago

    Excellent advise. Most of us do not learn these things until later in life. Congrats on the Top Story.

  • Marcus Capuno11 months ago

    I love this kind of advice. I love it.

  • Dana Crandell11 months ago

    Very good advice that I'm sure many of our younger selves could have benefitted from. Well done and congratulations!

  • Janet J. Smith11 months ago

    Deep. Very well done!

  • Lamar Wiggins11 months ago

    Very well done indeed! I’m thankful to your younger self for hanging in there and helping to create the mature and wise person you are today. I loved the bullet point about not always listening to your parents. They love us and have great intentions but are not always right when it comes to advice and how the world works. I also love the bullet point about flowers not looking the same but we still call them beautiful. What a great way to boost self esteem. Congrats on a well-deserved top story!

  • Donna Renee11 months ago

    Ahhh this was so raw and heartfelt. I hope it was healing ❤️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.