Confessions logo

Confessions of A Retail Rebel Shopaholic: Thrift Store 2.0

The Bargain Discovery of a lifetime!!!!

By Charismatic WriterPublished 3 years ago 6 min read
Dear Reader, I HAVE A CONFFESION TO MAKE.....

What to hear about or looking for a 2.0 version, next level, upgrade to a thrift store… well keep reading to find out more about this amazing discovery I found that change my shopping life FOREVER!

Ah, shopping. Even people who cannot afford it finds themselves doing it. So why do people shop, even when we are broke? Even when we are tired? Even when we do not feel like dealing with people and crowds?

Sure, we shop for obvious reasons – needing ingredients for this week’s dinner, an excuse to get out the house away from your wild kids, gained too many pounds while in quarantine and in the need of a new wardrobe or having nothing to wear at your Great Aunt’s funeral but a fuchsia power suit. But there are many not so healthy reasons you might feel this invisible pull toward the store – stress relive, boredom, depression, avoidance, coping mechanism, low self-esteem, bad relationship, illness, grief and loss, or because retail therapy is a thing. Wither you are shopping for a good are bad reason let us start or continue to shop smart. If we must shop (and if you are anything like me, it is a must), lets be smart about it and start shopping at the right place that will not cause you to go bankrupt because buying things for less money has a mood-lifting properties, according to Harvard researchers.

Now that we talked about my top favorite thing to do, let us talk about my newly confession and how it started from one of the biggest money saving, life changing discoveries I found because of it. My name is Charisma, and I have a confession, I have a problem. Actually, I have 498 problems and if you count the three earrings, I left at my mom’s house and all the clothes my sisters probably have, I will break 600. I like shoes, I like clothes. But most importantly I love the excitement of buying things for less money than they are worth because who does not like a good bargain.

But the problem with me is I tend to go OVER Board with my spending and always spend more than I should which is probably the case for most of us. Since I am always looking for a deal and love to save, I have always loved thrift stores because they have many amazing things you can find for cheap and you never know what antique, treasure or good bargain you will find. But let me tell you when I discovered this upgrade to a thrift store my life change for the better and well now it is “Bye, Bye Thrifts Store, Hello Retail Rebel!” You see retail rebel is not your typical thrift store, dare I say, “It’s a level Up.” What is this Retail Rebel you say? Well for those who was like me, new to this new form of a thrift store here is a little information on this beyond belief store I discovered from my grandpa….

Link

Retail Rebel is a discount/ treasure hunting store with thousands of general merchandise items, clothing, food, jewelry, etc., with newly added inventory for sale throughout every weekend. So yes, this store has a bit of everything for an affordable price. So, a little bit about how this store works is every Saturday they get two new truckloads of stocked filled with many varieties of products. On this day everything is sold for $10 each which they put the items in huge bins for people to search through. The greatest thing about this store is that after Saturday their prices drop each day. So, on Sunday everything in the bin is sold only for $5. Then Monday is only $4, Tuesday is $3, Wednesday is $2, Thursday is $1, and Friday is $0.50! Yes, you have heard right every Friday its ONLY 50cents!!!! I mean it does not get better than that. So, this is just the absolute best store ever when your want to get a huge bargain.

Ever since I discovered this store, I have been forever hooked and have rarely gone back to a thrift store because it is just so much better which is why I call it an upgrade. This store has made finding expensive items for half or more affordable prices easier. So that is why I cannot stay out of it. As much as I can, I will stop by and see what I can find because maybe one day I might come across a tablet or something even more value like my grandpa did. Like he is way worst them me because he goes like every single day to see what he can find but I will go maybe 1-3 times a week to find my little treasures which is not that bad.

So, with this store I can always find items that are normal pricey to me for a lot cheaper (which you know your girl is all for!). One of the top things that I like to buy there are their diffuser. Like almost every time I go, I will always find many different shapes, sizes, color, and cool looking diffuser for my home that I would buy for dirt cheap because that is what this store is all about. Like seriously, I have bought so many diffusers that I either gave them away to relatives/friends as presents or had put them in every room in the house including the bathrooms because who does not love going into a room that smell amazing. Just imagine going to one room that smell like the Bahamas and then going into another room that has this fruity or lavender smell….. It is just amazing and put out relaxing vibes to the atmosphere. Some may call me crazy or doing too much, but I call it therapeutic. Other than the smell these diffusers comes with many good health benefits – improve sleep, stress & anxiety reduction, body and mind relaxation, weight management, improves respiratory health, and more.

Diffusers

Another items I like to buy there are their phone and tablet holders because these come in handy for when I need to use my devices to learn how to do something like cook a meal and need my hands. Therefore, these do come in handy. I also bought a lot of these so I can have them in each room like the diffusers.

Phone/Tablet Stand

Some other items I found that I am just so grateful for the find are - keyboards with Bluetooth mouse, face steamer, Clorox wipes, handheld garment steamer, electric massager, prelude 3 massager, religious bookmarks, huge pack of sticky notes and bling crystal self-adhesive sheets. I mean this store has literally everything. Now keep in mind all these items I bought was a reasonable price then what it is worth, so I always got a bargain. Thus, if your ever near a retail rebel and looking for a mind-blowing bargain just stop by, trust me it is worth it. The possibilities are endless!

Self ashesive stickers, Clorox wipes, Garment Steamer, Massagers,

Stickynotes, keyboards, bookmarks

Laptop Stands(TOP), Garment Steamer(MIDDLE), Face Steamer(BOTTOM)

I hope I have encouraged you to consider checking out this awesome discovery I’ve learn from my grandpa and have now gotten my mom hooked onto. There are currently 5 locations in the US, if you are interested check out more with this link. You will save money, pass time, and hopefully find some treasures and pass on a good legacy to the next generations to come. If you’ve are thinking about checking this place out or just very astonished about this wonderful find, feel free to show your girl some love by liking this. Tips are always appreciated and are welcome. This is my 2nd story here on this lovely Vocal Platform, but it will not be my last.

XOXO Charismatic Writer

If you are reading this you're awesome!

Bad habits

About the Creator

Charismatic Writer

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Charismatic WriterWritten by Charismatic Writer

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.