Confessions logo

Confessions of a confused and changing daughter

Growing up sucks...possible therapy is needed, too

By Ash DigestPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Confessions of a confused and changing daughter
Photo by Nathan Bingle on Unsplash

Hey Mum,

So I know you're not expecting this, but I have a confession to make.

Remember that time when I was like 5 and you were serving dinner - mashed potato with butter, sausages and some veggies - and you found one of the sausages in the tray was partially eaten and left in the tray with the rest of the food?

Uh, that was me.

Shocker right?

You even suspected me, like how?

I'm sure I was too sneaky for you to know!

I guess it is true that mothers know everything that their children are up to, but still - HOW?

What's more surprising is that I managed to convince you it wasn't me.

Maybe I'm more sneaky than I thought...but that's food for thought another time.

Oh, and I've also stolen some of your chocolates.

The rest is also pretty hard, more serious, and I do hope to be able to talk to you about this outside of a letter you're not going to see that's written for a competition.

I know you want me to follow in all your footsteps, be the mini version of you, but that can't happen. I know you're already disappointed in my older brother coming out as bi and also turning away from right wing politics and Christianity to become a left-wing possibly catholic leaning person who also believes in evolution, and I don't want to add to your disappointment, but...my views are changing, too.

I'm bi. I no longer identify as Christian or any organised religion for that matter. More spiritually awake, if anything, and not really identifying with any political leaning, but more left-wing if anything. Abortion is healthcare, as someone who's giving birth to eight children, you should know that. It should be an option for all, regardless of what reasons, they should be allowed to choose, you know what pregnancy does to a person's body.

I understand that you would really, really prefer if we didn't change like this, but I guess it's what happens when you step into the world, idk. I'm sorry if I've added to your disappointment, though, cause I know we were already having problems.

Also, I'm having a boudair photography session XD

A huge shocker is I briefly went into the feet pic selling business - NEVER AGAIN!!! Lol

I love reading smut, paranormal romances.

Me and my boyfriend lied that he is Christian, he's actually more agnostic, atheist, possibly new age. Didn't want to lie, but he is a beautiful soul and I know that since I was still living with you when we started dating, it would've caused problems that I didn't want to face and wasn't ready to deal with if you knew I was dating someone who didn't fit the religious spectrum. And I also knew that if you knew it would also lead to a discussion about why I, a believer and follower of God at the time, would want to date an agnostic, atheist leaning person and the truth is, I was starting to question things then and I felt free with him. I felt loved for the first time, genuinely loved, and understood and despite how we had and still to some degree have differing beliefs spiritually and all, we get along really well and really want a life together. I know you say 'don't be unequally yoked with your partner', yet, he and I are the most equally yoked people I know. Despite having different spiritual beliefs, we are the most spiritually connected couple I've seen, more so than religious couples. I hope you won't be too mad when I tell you this cause I know you love him and all, hope this won't change your view.

I love you, Mum, and I hope we reach a point where we can discuss this some more.

Family
Like

About the Creator

Ash Digest

One of eight kids, loves photography, writing, sketching, painting and singing! Would add dancing, but I still suck at that lol. I love all things pirate, sci-fi, romantic and fantasy, and hope you enjoy this journey with me :)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.